#490 – A Colorful Hello

PE: Mentioned at the ‘A Blog Named Hero’ post!! πŸ™‚

In my last post, I mentioned being inspired by a wonderful card-maker. Here’ another card I made being in my ‘inspired’ state –

Hello

Any guesses? Its the amazing Virginia Lu!! Ok, you can stop scratching your head, trying to understand how. I shall tell you – I love love love the way she uses colors in her cards – its really amazing! The more I see her use distress ink, the more I wonder how the hell she came up with the idea and actually turned it into a real card!!

Ok, so let me come back to reality….and my own card (cuz I am sure, anybody could praise her cards and never tire!) My main idea was to make the card as colorful as possible. I have used Hero Arts Night & Day flowers, both the solid and outline stamps in this card.

Hello

I used a watercolor panel and my MISTI with the solid stamps, along with distress inks, to create the flower garden. Once I was done with all the stamping, I watercolored the background using more distress inks, trying to keep it a little messy. Once dry, I used white watercolor paint to add a few splatters – I tried creating splatters using water, since I had used distress inks, but that didn’t work – maybe I had already used too much water on the coloring? I don’t know, so anyway, the white paint worked just fine, so no complaints! πŸ™‚Β  Once dry, I die cut the panel using Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles.

I then used a strip of vellum and using the MISTI again, keeping the colorful watercolor paper panel as the base, I stamped the outlines using Versamark watermark ink and heat embossed it in gold. I then trimmed the vellum a bit more and cut the bottom at an angle. I adhered the vellum using some gold striped washi tape.

Hello

I finally foam mounted the panel on card and added some gold sequins as embellishment.

Submitting my card to Can You CASE It #124: Watercoloring, Virginia’s View Challenge #22 (Summer Challenge): All About Colors (see the irony here??? πŸ˜€ ) and A Blog Named Hero: Vellum

Sketch2015-001

496c1-v2bv2bchallenge2b252322

Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

Save

33 thoughts on “#490 – A Colorful Hello

  1. Ok, I just left a comment on your previous post, but you were faster than me and presented the revealing post :). Yep, just as I thought… it was a third (also well known) crafter, ha! Although I can see how you were inspired by Virginia, I think you have your own style and heart in this beauty. LOVE what you did with the vellum and washi tape!

  2. wow! I love the added accents of gold embossing on vellum. Really takes this card to the next level! Simply gorgeous! Thanks for joining us at Can You Case It? –Elizabeth Jeanne (Happy Stamper)

  3. Yup Virginia! That’s what I guessed. ..when I saw your card yesterday….and this one is another burst of colors, love the vibrant use if different shades of colors here Ashwini.

  4. Oh wow, how beautiful! What a wonderfully grand idea to emboss on the vellum while the image below is not embossed – very creative – I love it and it’s pinned for my future casing!!! So glad you joined us at A blog Named Hero – Good luck on your entry. Best to you.

  5. Oh my…I am absolutely flattered by your mention! I think you really took the inspiration and made it your own, Ashwini! The striking colors and use of gold element really make this card a stand-out! Thanks for making my day! So glad that you join the fun over Virginia’s View β€œAll about Colors” Challenge!

  6. Pingback: We’ve Had a Blast Lil inker designs!

Leave a Reply

