#491 – Leafy Greetings

I had the stamp set – Autumn Leaves from WPlus9 – from quite some time in my stamp, completely unused. And I got a great opportunity to use them.. 🙂

I made two cards and I used distress inks and and the same die set for both the cards too!

Thinking of You

For my first card I used the stamps with both the solid and the outline stamps. I used a watercolor panel and started stamping the solid leaves on the top left side of the panel using Shabby Shutters, Mustard Seed, Bundled Sage, Fossilized Amber and Crushed Olive distress inks, misting them with water. Once I stamped the solids, I stamped the outlines using Adirondack Ginger and Memento Tuxedo Black inks, stamping the same place twice.

Thinking of You

I then die cut the panel using SSS Stitched Rectangles and then die cut the ‘you’ using Lawn Fawn Cole’s ABCs. I then stamped the rest of the sentiment, from Avery Elle Laurels using Memento Tuxedo Black and then foam mounted the panel on a kraft card base.

Once done, I found the stamping to be a little lacking (that’s becoming a habit now.. :P) And so, I blended in the lighter greens and yellows. I also stamped a few more leaves on the bottom right and finally added a few brown ink splatters on the card. That satisfied me! 😉

Submitting this to Color Throwdown Challenge #397 and Happy Little Stampers: Anything Goes with Dies

Happy Little Stampers - Anything Goes With Dies Badge

For my second card, I went CAS.

I used only two colors, Shabby Shutters and Mustard Seed, and stamped them directly without misting them with water. Once done, I added big globules of water on the card, hoping to get the color off on most place – that, spectacularly, didn’t work as I had hoped – you can barely notice some of the color come off – a complete failure!! So, picking myself up, I added splatters of the two distress inks and some more black ink splatters only around where I wanted the sentiment.

You Make Me Smile

For the sentiment, I first stamped the sentiment from Hero Arts All Occasion Messages in Memento Tuxedo Black and then picked the left over die cuts from my previous card, and adhered it above the stamped sentiment.

You Make Me Smile

Once done, I added a few flat, white sequins as embellishment.

Submitting this to Lesia Zgharda Challenge: Leaves

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

23 thoughts on “#491 – Leafy Greetings

  1. These cards are stunning!! I really can’t say which I like better! Love how you stamped the leaves with the distressed inks and then misting them! Beautiful!!

  2. Fabulous use of foliage here, the cards are nothing short of but pure fun! love the colors, and I love nature, so flowers and leaves cards appeal to me more than anything else. 2 gorgeous set of cards Ashwini.

  3. Beautiful designs! Love the soft look you got for the leaves from misting the ink with water. Thanks for joining us for this week’s Color Throwdown!

  4. Two gorgeous cards, Ashwini! As I see it, the first one has a more Autumnal feel and the second goes well with Spring/Summer… they are both really beautiful, but my heart is with the last one. Keep them coming :).

    • Thank you so much Cris! I didn’t think while making them, but I did think the same after I finished (that was when I started wondering which season they would fit into! :D)

  5. WOW! Stunning and beautiful card, Ashwini! Love your vintage look background with those leaves. Very sweet for sure!
    Thank You for playing along with Happy Little Stampers – Anything Goes With Dies this month!

  6. Pingback: Результати завдання “Листя” та галереї червня - Lesia Zgharda

Leave a Reply

