#504 – Summer Garden, Watercolored

I am sure almost all of us have watched Nina Marie Trapini‘s awesome cards and all her genius unfolding with her spectacular watercoloring. I picked up some tips from on how she watercolored this card by watching this video – its one of my favorite cards from her – and tried to make something from it. Here’s the result –

Happy Birthday

I started with a watercolor panel, stamped the flowers and leaves from Summer Garden in Versamark watermark ink and made some clear heat embossing. I then water colored the whole thing . I didn’t use Zig Markers, but used my distress inks, but the method is more or less the same that Nina has described – soft to dark coloring and layered coloring. I even sprayed some Perfect Pearl mixed with water for the subtle pearly sheen.

Once done, I thought of adding some multi-frame-dimension in my card too, but I don’t own any such die – instead I did some partial die cutting using SSS Stitched Rectangles dies and ended up with two vertical panels which I foam taped to the card base, along with the outer panel.

Happy Birthday

The sentiment is from Altenew Painted Greetings, stamped using Walnut Stain distress ink, which I then fussy cut and foam mounted on the panel. For embellishing I used gold and silver sequins.

Submitting this card to the following challenges –

Seize The Birthday Challenge: Bold and Bright

Paru’s Card Making Challenge: July Challenge: Birthday

Virginia’s View Challenge #22: All About Colors

496c1-v2bv2bchallenge2b252322

Bastel Traum: Anything Goes

Bastel Traum - Challenge Badge

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Save

24 thoughts on “#504 – Summer Garden, Watercolored

  1. WOW, this is amazing! The water coloring is spectacular and I love the added interest created by the two die cut panels. I love the effect of spraying Perfect Pearls mixed with water, usually hard to see in photos, but I also use it frequently… that tip I learned from Debby Hughes a long time ago. Not really that long, about three years ago ;).

  2. Wow…. Soooo much colours, so funny and gorgeous! Love it, it’s like the pure summer!
    Thanks for playing with Basteltraum and good luck.
    hugs

Leave a Reply

