#515 – Coloring Scattering Leaves

PE: CAS-ual Fridays Favorite!! Yay!

CAS-ual Fridays - Favorite

A2Z Scrapbooking Challenge: Runner Up!!

Hello! I think its becoming more and more common for me to make something, getting stuck without knowing how to finish it and then come back after a few days to finish it.. For this card, in particular, I actually waited two more days just to adhere some rhinestones on it! πŸ˜€ But I don’t mind, since the challenges are still open! πŸ˜›

You're Amazing

I started with inking the smaller leaves from Hero Arts Scattering Leaves stamp set using blue and green distress inks (I used Shabby Shutters, Moved Lawn, Tumbled Glass and Broken China), then stamping them as is (no misting) on watercolor paper. I used a brush, just the least wet, to spread the color, wherever I hadn’t stamped well. Once done, I colored the background using Antique Linen and Tea Dye inks. I then added a good measure of splatters using Camel Drawing inks.

You're Amazing

I then stamped the sentiment, a mixture of words from Waffle Flower In Every Way and MFT I Knead You stamp sets, using Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I used my MISTI, since I knew I wouldn’t get a good print on a watercolor panel on the first try. Finally, I trimmed he panel and foam mounted it on the card base. I then added the rhinestones for embellishing.

Submitting this card to the A2Z Scrapbooking August Challenge: Color In and CAS-ual Fridays #154: Time to Color Challenge

Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

 

Save

45 thoughts on “#515 – Coloring Scattering Leaves

  1. Loved the watercolored look and those splatters make look Wow !
    One more thing that’s becoming common is your posts only on weekends 😦

    • Thank you Pooja! Sorry about posting only on the weekends, but that’s when I get proper time to get my creative juice running!! πŸ˜€ Getting a little busy these days – and that’s why I had said that I would post lesser last month! πŸ™‚

  2. …and you are amazing too! What you describe as being more common in your creative process is very frequent to me… in fact I can barely count a few cards that I’ve started and finished in the same day. I think I even prefer it this way, stepping aside for some time allows me to consider more options and eventually choose one :). I guess you’ve also benefited from this pause, because your card is absolutely artsy and superb! LOVE!

    • Thank you so much Cris! Isn’t it great how people work so differently – I usually finish a card in one sitting – I don’t like to leave things for another day, unless I am totally unable to put off my sleep!! πŸ˜‰ But I do love it when that pause turns out into something good – I guess you just need the break sometimes! πŸ˜€

  3. You are back, I was visiting everyday to see if you are here πŸ™‚ I love the foliage here, and all the leaves are colored so beautifully Ashwini. Green is my favorite color, and to see so many shades of this lovely color, make it a happy card for me. I also wait sometime to finish a card, I keep it on my desk right in front of me, where I can see it, and continue with other ideas, some projects are still siting on my desk πŸ˜‰ haven’t made up my mind how to proceed further.

    • Thank you so much Rahmat!! But I guess you needn’t visit everyday (although I really am thankful, and couldn’t be happier!!), since I have reduced my posts so much! Other than that..yes I knew green was your fav – you’ve mentioned it in your posts..couldn’t miss it! πŸ˜‰
      For me, I don’t have so much space on my desk..if I am working on something new, I’ll have to move other stuff somewhere else..but it would be on my mind, so I just make something out of it in the end! πŸ™‚

  4. I love the background, so fresh and interesting. Sometimes the wait to finish let’s you pick the perfect addition to a card. πŸ™‚

    So glad you joined us at a2z Scrapbooking.

  5. Wow, this is a beautiful card. The colors are so pretty together and the splatters and gems – together it is all a beautiful artistic treat to look at! Thanks so much for joining in the fun at the a2z Scrapbooking blog! Angie – a2z DT

  6. So beautiful; I love the care you took for each of the elements; thank you for explaining how you created this masterpiece so that others may try to re-create it. The splatters and rhinestones are so perfect to complete the card. Thank you for joining us at a2z this month.

    sue n.

    • Sorry, I don’t have a store. Moreover, I live in India, so I don’t know if even the conventional way will work out- too much to pay via postage.. But let me know if you are still interested, we can work something out. πŸ™‚

    • Yay!! Thank you so much for mentioning me in your blog…and even getting inspired! I assure you, its fantastic! πŸ™‚
      And I know what you mean..destiny, huh πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: #575 – A Challenge to Get Your Mojo Back! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  8. Pingback: #577 – Chasing Mojo with Sweet Kobylkin | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  9. Pingback: Chasing Mojo with Sweet Kobylkin – CASEing Ashwini | honeybeelane

Leave a Reply

