#532 – Faux Hydrangeas

PE: Top Pick at Marker

Marker POP - Top 3

Hello! And a happy World Card Making Day to all the card makers out there!! Big cheers to all us card makers!!! šŸ˜€

I have been seeing this awesome hydrangea dies from Simon Says Stamp around blogland, and been wowed one too many times..I thought I just had to try adding some in a card. Now, I don’t own the fantastic die, but I did have something similar with me – A Bunch of Flowers die from Elizabeth Crafts. One set of these flowers look so much like hydrangeas, I think I’ll call them faux hydrangeas! šŸ˜‰ And here’s what I made –

You Are Amazing

One more reason – I just good a bunch of Zig brush markers!! I had them in a bit darker colors, and was longing for some lighter shades.. and I just bought them from SSS, and couldn’t wait to put them to good use! And wow!!! Really amazing product – I couldn’t love them more – totally worth the investment!!

So here’s what I did – I first die cut a bunch of flowers…from the Bunch of Flowers dies ;). Then I colored them, pretty shabbily, using the Zigs, misted them, let them air dry. I re-colored some which I thought were lacking color or cover. Well, the water did most of the work, so I mostly did just a tiny bit!

You Are Amazing

For the background – I just placed the (dried) flowers to get a placement, then stamped the leaves from Micia Blooms of Mine – these leaves were the most like hydrangea leaves (yes, I did some homework!) using Antique Linen distress ink. Then I colored the background using Zigs, used a brush to spread and mix the color around, heat-dried it, then misted it some more with water, and then heat dried it again, and finally added water splatters to get that dreamy look. Once this was dry, I added outlines to the leaves using Zig Cool Gray 1, since the veins had become almost invisible.

Finally, I added the flowers, then stamped the sentiment – a mix of Honey Bee Stamps Brush Grunge Alpha & Ellen Hutson Mondo Magnolia – using Memento Tuxedo Black. At this point I realized that I hadn’t added any splatters that I had wanted to add..so I added them, covering the flowers (but I still got some ink on one of them).. Finally I added some silver stickles to the flower centers.

I am submitting this card to the following challenges –

Marker Pop Challenge #104: For the girls

Timeout Challenge #67: Breast Cancer Awareness and/or Friendship (plus, I’ve used pink; no embossing though..)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge: Anything Goes

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Sovushka Slavia: Card Sketch #60

Thank you so much for stopping by! šŸ™‚

Save

19 thoughts on “#532 – Faux Hydrangeas

Leave a Reply

