#538 – Paper Smooches Challenge

Hello! I am trying today this ingenious technique by Jennifer McGuire (really, which technique by is her is not!?!) And this is the card I made –

Thanks

Although I had the links and video, I made this card by memory, and made a tiny mistake. Instead of letting the card air dry between colors, I heat dried it – this didn’t let the colors blend, and instead of a pretty color imbibed kinda look, it became dotty!! Not what I wanted!! I had to mist it before proceeding to add more color, since the misting blended the inks a little too much! πŸ˜‰

Thanks

So, anyway, the stamps I’ve used in this card are Paper Smooches Bold Buzzwords, Calico and Twiggy Florets, and heat embossed them in clear. I then used distress inks for this technique – Tattered Rose, Victorian Velvet, Shaded Lilac, Dusty Concord, Pumice Stone, Rusty Hinge, Brushed Corduroy and Walnut Stain.

Finally I added some Deco Art Glamour Dust Ultra Fine Glitter Paint in gold in all the ‘holes’ and then added a few dots of gold stickles like enamel dots. Again, maybe I shouldn’t have added the dots in the flower centers.. πŸ˜€

Conclusion: I love the technique – I absolutely don’t mind getting my fingers inky, more so when I know I can easily get it off!! So, I am definitely going to try this one again!! One more thing – it looks even better if the paper used has some toothy texture – mine was less toothed, so there’s not much texture – you can really see the texture in Jennifer’s cards – they are just fabulous!!

I am submitting this card to the Paper Smooches October Challenge: Fall Color Story

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “#538 – Paper Smooches Challenge

  1. It still is a cool background that works so well with the white flowers and sentiment. Will have to give a try with this technique… I don’t mind to get inky, in fact I love it, but I must confess that Distress inks are a bit too much, although I love them. If you have a special technique to remove it easily please please please share :).

    • It is a great technique, isn’t! Water with some soap/handwash worked in my case, but you could use a glove if not. Or maybe other inks that work well with water. Just remember to let it air dry! πŸ™‚

  2. The colors look fabulous, I had to click and see what this technique is this, as I couldn’t get it by readingπŸ˜‰πŸ™Š
    It looks fantastic Ashwini, I love The shades of brown and then the whites. The flower centers look just perfect, you did a good job here.

  3. LOL! That’s hilarious- which technique isn’t Jennifer’s! TOTALLY TRUE! Amazing card- great use of our colors! LOVE LOVE LOVE! Thanks so much for joining in the fun and playing along with the October PS challenge! ❀ Hope you join in the fun again soon!

Leave a Reply

