#552 – Thanks..in Black and Gold

Hello!

I recently got a set of Gansai Tambi watercolors, and tried it out in my previous card…and loved it! I love how rich the colors are, and smooth. And the best part – I don’t have to worry about lines. I owned a set of Camel watercolors till now, and the one complaint I had was that they dry quickly, and once set, I was completely unable to set the colors in motion again. I would see the lines/borders of the previously dried color, and had no idea how to get rid of it. No amount of water would move it, adding more color would not work..I was completely lost. So, I had to try and finish coloring while the colors were still wet..not losing any time at all. But I don’t have this problem with Gansai Tambi. And there’s the bonus of having such a variety of colors, including gold and silver – simply wow!!

Thanks

Ok…moving on from praising the watercolors … and coming back to actual action.. I made this card using the darkest brown, the black and gold colors from the set. I first stamped the flower from Ellen Hutson Mondo Magnolia using MFT Hybrid black ink using my MISTI (had to stamp twice, since the tooth of the paper wouldn’t let proper stamping the first time) and set about coloring. Once the panel dried, I stamped the sentiment using Honey Bee Stamps Brush Grunge Alpha, twice, once using Black Soot distress ink and then again using Memento Brilliance Galaxy Gold ink. I even added splatters of the gold from the watercolor. I then trimmed the edges and mounted it on white cardstock. That finished a quick and easy card – barely spent half an hour on it, even with the drying time. 😀

Thanks

Submitting this card to the following challenges –

Ellen Hutson Mix It Up challenge (Honey Bee Stamps)

CAS(E) This Sketch #198

Woodcraft Store: Clean and Simple: Black & White

Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

16 thoughts on “#552 – Thanks..in Black and Gold

  1. What a great take on the sketch Ashwini, it looks brilliant, I love the design very much. Seems like me, you too have slowed down a bit in blogging nowadays.

Leave a Reply

