#553 – Seize the Birthday – Presents

Hello! Its a new challenge at Seize the Birthday. The topping this time is ‘Presents’.

Seize The Birthday - The Toppings

You can choose to make a card with the topping (theme) or to make birthday card without the topping – just make sure it is birthday themed!

Seize The Birthday - Anything Goes

Here’s the card I made for inspiration –

Seize the Birthday - Present

I have a few stamps with critters carrying or coming out of presents in them. But I made that plan B – I wanted to make something that would have a present as the main focus. But, since I don’t own any present dies, I tried using the good old scale and cutting knife to make my own present. And this is the result –

Seize the Birthday - Present

After cutting out a present shape, I heat embossed it in gold a few times, to raise it a bit. I then adhered this over a scrap piece of cardstock, on which I had stamped My Favorite Things Lacy Background using Black Soot distress ink. Keeping this aside, I blended Black Soot on the background, and stamped the stars and stuff (from Mama Elephant Bear Hugs and JustRite Bokeh Builder) using Black Soot and Memento Galaxy Gold inks. The sentiments are from Winnie & Walter The Big, the Bold and Party and The Big, The Bold and Extras stamp sets.

So that’s my card. For more inspiration, pop over to Seize the Birthday blog!

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

Save

22 thoughts on “#553 – Seize the Birthday – Presents

  1. Ashwini this card is amazing! I already fell for your gorgeous background, but then to find out that you cut the present out freehand?! Wowza am I impressed!

  2. I am in love with this card Ashwini! What is super cool about it, is the way you have tied in the background and the present to match so well together! Super job!

  3. Wow! I can’t believe that you made that present from scratch. It is awesome!! I thought it was a gold foil die cut piece πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

