#569 – Snowman Sweeties

Hello! I am re-featuring here the cards I made for Paper Smooches for the last Guest Designer post I had there. I had total fun playing with all the products that Kim sent me (thank you so much Kim!) And here, I am writing a bit more about the cards I made –

I used Melted Snowman die set and Winter Sampler stamp set on both cards. I even kept a neon blue + black theme for both the cards.

Paper Smooches GD - You Melt My Heart

For my first card, I simply die cut pieces using Snow Drifts die set, adhered them over a piece of neon blue cardstock I die cut using SSS Stitched Rectangles die. This could act as snowdrift or some wind – whatever you think it is! 🙂  I white heat embossed the sentiment. I then assembled the snowman, colored it using Zig brush markers, covered it with clear Wink of Stella – it really is a shame it is not showing in the images, it looks fabulous! – and finally adhered this on the blue base.

Paper Smooches GD - You Melt My Heart

For the card base, I stamped the snowflakes from Paper Smooches Cool Dudes stamp set using Black Soot distress ink. And then I mounted the blue panel on it using foam tape. Finally, I added some silver glitter dots around the blue panel for embellishing.

And for my second card –

Paper Smooches GD - Christmas Wishes

I stamped the sentiments and images from Sentiment Sampler and Cool Dudes stamp sets and then die cut the frame using Paper Smooches Frame 2 die. I actually wanted to create a shaker with sparkly beads in it, but didn’t, since the vellum was dulling the beads. So instead, I added the glitter on the vellum itself! 😀

Paper Smooches GD - Christmas Wishes

So, once I created the window and adhered everything on the card base, I added the snowman. Again, I colored it using Zig brush markers and covered it with clear Wink of Stella. I finally added Nuvo Crystal drops in Aquatic Mist for embellishing.

Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

13 thoughts on “#569 – Snowman Sweeties

  1. These are terrific! I can’t get over how much I like the blue and Black together on the first card! It looks fab! The second card is so unique! Always a pleasure when I stop in! Happy New Year to you Ashwini!

  2. Love the sense of movement on your neon blue “slope”. Your designs are always perfect and what a use of color! Thanks for your kind comments on my blog, Ashwini. Your comment about “something weird about the card that I like” on my brown flowers card made me crack up! I totally get it! And a question. When I try to reply to your comments, I am taken to google+ which I don’t use. Usually I find a list of the person’s blog posts on that first google+ screen and can click through to the blog that way, but not with yours. I have to google your name and find your blog and come here that way. Are you aware that you are difficult to find that way (or is it just for me since I don’t use google+???)

    • Maria, thank you so much for your comments!
      About your question – it must be because I comment using the Google+ id instead of the WordPress id, whenever the blog post I am commenting on is outside WordPress. Although it is easy for me, I guess it is difficult to reply to – I guess I’ll start commenting using my WordPress id after all! Thank you so much for telling me this!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

