#573 – Coloring with Color Pencils

Hello! Its been some time.. I’ve been a bit busy with work and such.. and even coloring took such a long time – I’ve been coloring just these two cards for two weeks now!! But finally I had some time, and I was able to finish these –

Just Saying Hello

For this card, I stamped the flowers from Hero Arts Night & Day flowers using Memento Dandelion ink, then colored them using Faber Castell Polychromos color pencils. I also added lots of dots between the flowers, it was looking too plain otherwise.

The sentiment is die cut using Paper Smooches Thanks die, after which I just trimmed it along the sides and adhered it. I then stamped the rest of the sentiment, from Hero Arts All Occasion Messages using Potter’s Clay, trimmed and adhered it. I then mounted the whole thing on kraft card base. For embellishing, I used some pretty yellow and blue flower sequins.

By the way, both this card and the next one have a bit different dimension – the front panel is a bit less than 4″x 5.25″, the base being a bit more than 4″x 5.5″. So, the top panel overhangs just a bit from the base.

Just Saying Hello

I am submitting this card to The Flower Challenge #4: Blue and Yellow and A2Z Scrapbooking January Challenge: Anything Goes

anything-goes

For my next card, I chose kraft card stock and white embossing for my pencil coloring –

Celebrate

I combined stamps from Happy Little Stampers Doodled Flowers and Simon Says Stamp Look for the Miracles – I just knew as soon as I saw them that these two stamps would work wonderfully together! So, I stamped them on a lighter kraft cardstock and then heat embossed them with Wow! white embossing powder, and then colored them.

The sentiment comes from Stamplorations Celebrate die cut, for which I used a darker cardstock. I used another piece of black foam to mount it on the panel, and then mounted the panel on the same dark kraft card base. I added a few dots of Nuvo Crystal Drops Bright Gold around the sentiment for embellishing.

Celebrate

I am submitting this card to Stamplorations: Anything Goes Challenge (not sure of using only the sentiment die cut counts for this challenge; if not, please delete the entry!), Happy Little Stampers: Anything Goes Challenge and SSS Work It Wednesday: Something new with a new product (The SSS Stamp and the sentiment die are new in my stash!)

Stamplorations - Anything Goes

Happy Little Stampers - Anything Goes Badge

SSS - Work It Wednesday

And thank you so much for stopping by! πŸ™‚

Save

Save

42 thoughts on “#573 – Coloring with Color Pencils

  1. Yay! I came directly to your blog πŸ˜‰ Wow, these two. I can’t get over your attention to detail in #1. Those colors! And on #2… a great combo of stamps, those leaves are gorgeous. I love your drop shadows.

  2. Two beautiful cards Ashwini, esp. the first one with those pretty flowers. Thank you so much for sharing with us over at ‘The Flower Challenge’ and we hope to see you again soon πŸ˜‰ Viv DT xx

  3. Both are oozing color and freshness Ashwini, I really want to borrow your thinking cap for once to use the colors ;). I have a hard time reaching for bold colors, same goes with my attire too, mine are all boring soft tones πŸ˜‰ Hopefully one day I will find some courage to use the bold colors, I love looking at your cards!!!

    • Thank you so much Rahmat! But your soft colors have absolutely beauty of their own…I don’t think I’ve been able to use soft colors like you! Guess we both need to learn from each other..and that would be fun! πŸ˜€

  4. Ashwini you really nailed it with these two creations. I know I am meant to be here commenting on your yellow and blue card that is absolutely perfect but I also have to comment on the other. Looks fantastic, those flowers so vibrant on both cards, so eye catching. Love them.thank you so much for joining us at The Flower Challenge this month. Your support is really appreciated.

Leave a Reply

