#593 – Little Tangles March Challenge – Rainbow

Hello! Time for a new challenge at Little Tangles and the theme for this month is Rainbows.

2017-03-badge

Frankly, I am really really bad at cards with rainbow colors. There are so many colors and I just absolutely don’t get any idea as to what to do with them!! I could have just added an actual rainbow as an element and probably used a critter – Neat & Tangled has plenty of cute critter stamps – but unfortunately I don’t own any of those! 😦 So, I tried making something else.

I’ve made two cards – one CAS (also displayed in the Little Tangles blog) and the other with mixed media (see below).

Thank You

CAS first.. I actually made this one last.. I chose a cardstock with a bit of texture on it, added the rainbow colors using Zig brush pens, and mingled the colors using water and a flat brush. Once dry, I stamped the sentiment from Neat & Tangled Scandinavian Prints and the images from Neat & Tangled Hand Stitched. I trimmed the panel and mounted it on a grey card base. Finally added a few drops of Nuvo White Blizzard Glitter Drops.

Thank You

I saved my favorite for the second – mixed media. Distress inks, heat embossing, acetate, wood veneers, clip, washi tape and of course, stamping! 🙂

Hello

Once I made the background using ink smooshing technique with distress inks, I used Neat & Tangled Punchinella stamp with Ranger Sea Foam embossing powder for the embossing the acetate. I had actually bought this ep thinking it would be nice and white, back when I had just started cardmaking and didn’t know dye ink from pigment ink, and had regretted the purchase. But it is just perfect for embossing on acetate, and with a stamp set like Punchinella. Doesn’t cover the entire surface to give it a clean look, but covers enough to give a shape and show off the acetate. I love this look! 🙂

Hello

Anyway, I didn’t want to use any adhesive on this, so the clip works just fine. After adding a couple of washi tapes, I added the sentiment from Neat & Tangled Everyday Labels, and a couple of heart wood veneers, which I covered with Nuvo White Blizzard Glitter Drops.

So, those are my two inspiration cards for the Rainbow challenge. Which one do you like better? I am submitting the first card to the following challenges –

AAA Cards Challenge #84: CAS : Watercolor

Addicted to Stamps Challenge #251: Anything Goes

Addicted to Stamps - Anything Goes

Just Add Ink #349: Inspiration

…and the second card to Happy Little Stampers March Watercolor Challenge: Anything Goes, with smooshing as the optional technique –

Check out the Little Tangles blog for more fantastic inspiration from the rest of the DT. And also join the fun by making your own version of a rainbow. Don’t forget to use at least one product from Neat & Tangled.

Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Save

Save

28 thoughts on “#593 – Little Tangles March Challenge – Rainbow

  1. Ohh my.. Awesomeness !! First one is ver much your style CAS ..lived the design.Second one has fabulous mix of elements..n colors 🙂

  2. Oooh loving these cards and such elegant and striking use of water colours. The blend on the first one is exquisite and I’m thrilled to see you’ve linked up at AAA Cards with it. Thanks so much x

  3. Ashwini, your CAS card is SO sweet! I LOVE that you chose to stamp in black, over the gorgeous rainbow of colour. Just delightful. Thanks for joining in the fun at Just Add Ink this week – it’s great to have you play along with us!

  4. I bought “seafoam” embossing powder in my early days thinking it was white! Now that I know better, I still use the seafoam, but I have white as well. 🙂 What gorgeous cards, Ashwini! I think you do beautiful work with rainbows. Thanks for joining us at Happy Little Stampers Watercolour Challenge!

    • Thank you so much Michelle for you kind comments!! I guess you just have to wait, even with ‘mistaken’ purchases, to figure out how to work with them.. And you finally do! 🙂

  5. Both cards are absolutely gorgeous, Ashwini! Love how the rainbow in your first card shows the texture of the paper, colors seem to spread and mix more (than in regular watercolor paper) with each other.
    Your second card fooled me, I thought you were using the Punchinella die… was about to ask you what kind of paper or technique you used :). Now that I know, I’m in love with the sea foam powder… pretty cool effect, especially in acetate and with mixed media goodness – LOVE! The smooshed bg too!
    If you still have any doubts with rainbows, try to inspect the work of Laura Bassen, she’s the queen of rainbows :).
    What a big comment… almost wrote a novel, sorry!
    Thanks for sharing those challenges, I think I’ll give them a try :).

    • Thank you so much Cris! You know, I do have complete board in Pinterest dedicated to Laura! And I did check her amazing creations .. but somehow, nothing clicked! Isn’t that a huge letdown! Either the products I have wouldn’t match, or the idea was seen to many times, and I didn’t want to repeat them. Anyway, I am just glad I could make these two in time! 🙂

  6. Your rainbow is beautiful! I love all the colours! Thanks for playing along at AAA Card Challenge! Hugs! Justine

  7. I like both of your cards – lovely water colour on the first on and a great mixed media example on the other. Chantell JAI

  8. The black outlined flowers look fab against your watercolour rainbow.
    Thanks for sharing at this week’s Anything Goes challenge at ATSM. 🙂

  9. Two beautiful cards, Ashwini! I love the vibrant colours of your rainbow on the first card and the striking contrast of the black details. Thanks for sharing with us again at Just Add Ink :-$

  10. These are both beautiful cards Ashwini! I love how you framed your colour in the first with the delicate B&W images and how your second is just brimming with vibrant colour. Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

Leave a Reply

