#617 – With Thanks

Hello! Made this card some time ago while trying out the fresh stash of products that Danielle had sent me.. I just love the curvy lines in the Topography stamp.. and it is so versatile! I can think of so many things to do with this stamp. And the dies in Flower Medallion Builder too..so pretty! Here’s what I came up with –

With Thanks

I first heat embossed the Topology background using silver pearl embossing powder, then colored each section using Zig brush pens. My idea was to try out the card with only coloring, and if I felt that didn’t look good, I could always add water and spread the colors to make it prettier.. as long as the colors didn’t clash, it would look great! And that’s what happened – the colors weren’t looking great just sitting there, so I heavily misted them with some pearl water (water + perfect pearls). I kept this aside to air dry.

With Thanks

I then die cut some watercolor paper using the Flower Medallion Builder dies. I used watercolor paper, since the technique would require some thick paper, and the watercolor paper is the thickest and sturdiest I’ve got. After determining the arrangement, I decided which parts required the embossing, then heat embossed the pieces with copper embossing powder three times, making the pieces look metallic (learned this from Jennifer McGuire!). This, paired with the off-white color of the other diecuts looked really pretty! 🙂

Finally, I trimmed the dried watercolored base, adhered it over the card base, then trimmed the excess from the sides. I then adhered the flowers and a pearl in between. As for the sentiment, I did the same 3-times copper embossing, and also foam mounted it on the card.

Although it is pretty hard to capture this on the image, the brilliant metallic shine of the copper embossing and the soft sheen of the pearl water in the background look pretty well matched.. I really liked this combination.. and the off-white die cuts provide a nice contrast against the two colorful and shiny surfaces.. all in all, I am happy with the results! 🙂

Submitting this card to the following challenges –

Addicted to Stamps Challenge #242: Make Your Mark

Addicted to Stamps - Make Your Mark

Happy Little Stampers: May Anything Goes with Dies Challenge

Happy Little Stampers - Anything Goes With Dies Badge

Seven Hills Crafts: May Color Challenge (the set of colors in the last image)

e0f9e-may17

Simon Says Stamp: Wednesday Challenge: A Bit of Sparkle

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

9 thoughts on “#617 – With Thanks

  1. Brilliant card…gorgeous background and you combine perfect soft colors against the flower color…thank you for joining us at ATSM challenge this week,hope to see you again
    Željka DTxx

  2. OMG, this is spectacular!!! I love the colours you used and it must have taken forever to colour all those little curvy areas in. So worth it though (I love a good fiddly project). And I must get my hands on those flower dies, they look amazing!!!!

    • Thank you so much Shona!! But it actually didn’t take all that time at all.. Even I had thought that it would take a lot of time, but it was as a lot quicker than I expected!
      Thanks a lot for your kind words! 🙂

Leave a Reply

