#631 – Father’s Day Card

Hello! Father’s Day was last week, and I’d kept this one here ready for a month now! If you know me, you know that I still give flowery cards to my Papa – I’ve got no new or old definition for ‘masculine cards’; I just make and give my Papa what I know makes him and me happy. Flowers are always the thing for us! πŸ™‚ Here’s what I made –

Happy Father's Day

I used the Penny Black Flower Cluster stamp, stamped it on watercolor paper several times using MISTI, masking the image wherever needed. I used Antique Linen distress ink for stamping.

I then watercolored them using distress inks. I chose three inks for each color, waiting until one layer was dry before adding the next layer. Actually, I didn’t have to wait – coloring each of the flowers separately took sufficient time, so everything would dry by then!! πŸ˜€ Finally, I watercolored the background using Peacock Feathers distress ink.

Happy Father's Day

My initial idea was to trim the watercolor panel to a standard card size, but seeing that it came out better than I expected, I decided to keep the whole thing as is. πŸ˜€ I did however trim the sides a bit, then the bottom part, which was mostly white. I then added the sentiment, using Mama Elephant Calli Letters stamp sets.

Now, I usually add some kind of embellishment at this point, but I seriously had no idea what to add to this card. Pearls, rhinestones and glitter all seemed wrong. I was lost for a day, before it hit me – embossing! I used Emboss It pen to add embossing on select areas on the flowers and leaves, and clear embossed it. I also added the clear embossing on the letters.

[It was so hard to click this image – no matter what angle I shot from, the embossing wasn’t showing at all!! It was like it was totally shy of the camera, and didn’t want to show itself in the images!! But I was able to capture it finally!! :D]

Happy Father's Day

I chose a beautiful cobalt blue card base, then used the same stamp set on the card base also, clear embossing it, before foam mounting the watercolor paper panel on top.

The envelope too – used the same stamps with my MISTI, along with Memento Danube Blue ink.

Happy Father's Day

I am joining these challenges with my card –

The Flower Challenge #9: Anything Goes

The Flower Challenge - Anything Goes

Addicted to Stamps Challenge #247: Make Your Mark

Addicted to Stamps - Make Your Mark

Happy Little Stampers: June Watercolor Challenge: Anything Goes, with an optional twist of masking

34628-wc2bjune

The Challenge #88: Keywords (I chose flowers, bright and watercolor)

Thank you so much for stopping by! πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “#631 – Father’s Day Card

  1. Wow, this is an absolute stunner, Ashwini. I’m sure your dad must have loved it to the core! Your colouring is just excellent & love the colours. So very rich & pretty.

  2. Gorgeous cards! The simple blue outline is very classy. You know I ADORE the watercolored one! Your vibrant color choices work so well together 😍

  3. I LOVE that you made a flowery card for your dad. Most dad’s love gardening anyway! Great use of watercolouring too! Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers xx

  4. This is so beautiful, Ashwini!!! I love the stamp set and you made a beautiful floral panel using it! And to embellish it with clear embossing is a very creative touch!!! Thank you so much for sharing this with us at The Flower Challenge!!! Your creations made our gallery bloom :)!

  5. you are queen at coloring flowers miss lady
    this is oh wooooww (jaw drops)
    how many years did you learn
    I love love every pcs of flowers you colored and the light blue BG
    Totally stunning
    this is my winner card for my eyes
    many thanks to joining with us at ATSM this time
    hugs
    Monika

  6. Your card is really stunning! I’m sure your parents are very proud of their daughter and they look forward with excitement for all kind of celebrations, just to receive stunners like this :)!

  7. You have blown me away with his card! Wowser!!! Your colouring and masking is superb! Thank you for playing along with us at The Challenge.

Leave a Reply

