#638 – Little Tangles July Challenge – Masking

Hello! Its a new month.. and gosh, half an year has already passed! Its been a fabulous year so far, with beautiful cards from so many cardmakers at Little Tangles challenge! Its great to see so many inspirational creations every single time! And here’s another chance to show off more of that splendid talent – a new challenge for the month of July, the theme being ‘Masking’.

2017-07 Badge

And here’s the inspiration card I made –

Thinking of You

This is a one layer card. Yes, one layer! I’ve not used any dimensions here!! πŸ™‚ And I used masking twice while making it, using both the positive and the negative parts of the mask. That’s a first for me!! πŸ™‚

First of all, I die cut a piece of sticky notes paper using Neat and Tangled A Lot to Say die. I retained both the positive and the negative pieces. Then, I used the positive piece first, centering as much as I could upon the card base, then stamped all the flora from NeatΒ  and Tangled Hand Stitched stamp set. I took off the mask, applied the negative and drew an outline. This was to help me determine till where the images and coloring would need to be extended to ensure the final look would not be disjoined.

I took the mask off again, then colored the flora using Zig Brush marker pens. I also used my Unibal Signo black gel pen wherever the image wasn’t joined to the outline I drew earlier.

Thinking of You

Now to use the second masking. I replaced the negative mask, then blended in some colors using distress ink. I then white heat embossed the sentiment from Neat and Tangled Paper Cut Flowers stamp set.

Finally, I used Faber Castell color pencils to draw a shadow effect on the color blended area. Of course, copic markers might have been easier, but I don’t own any, so pencils were just as good! πŸ™‚

I hope you are inspired by my card. You can find more inspiration in the Little Tangles Challenge blog! Hope you join the fun! πŸ™‚

Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “#638 – Little Tangles July Challenge – Masking

  1. Great job at masking at both ends, love the dimensional impact it created! I am tickled to try it now πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

