#674 – Its The Season for Pumpkin Everything!

Hello! Its time for a new challenge at Little Tangles challenge, and this time, we have a neat little sketch for you to try!

2017-10 Badge

2017-10 Sketch

And since I was in the mood for autumn colors…

Pumkin Everything

…a mixed media card! Well, mostly, since I only used two elements other than the stamps and the adhesives – tissue paper and distress oxide inks.

Here’s how I made the focal point of the card – I first placed the stamp, Pumpkin Everything, over a stamping block – just so that nothing moved, and I had a solid base to lay the tissue paper on. I then used several pieces of tissue, layered them over the stamp, adding water using a brush to throughly wet the tissue, as I kept adding the layers. I must have added about 10 layers for this piece. (I learnt it from this tutorial)

Pumkin Everything

Once the casted piece was dry, I used distress oxide inks on the stamp, stamped it over. It didn’t stamp well the first time, and I had to stamp it several times. I didn’t even get the position right every time, but it did look great, so I decided to use the piece.

For the background panel, I used the same set of distress oxide inks, and used a brayer to apply the ink on the cardstock panel. And before mounting the casted piece, I trimmed it a bit, then distressed the sides a bit (not too much, or the tissue would tear). I then used glue on both the pieces to adhere it to the card base.

Pumkin Everything

A few of things I noticed about the casting –

  • As taught in the video, it is better to use a stamp without too many details. But if you do want some details (like I have here) a better option is to tear the tissue paper into smaller pieces and try to apply them evenly over the stamp. Use the brush to gently push the tissue while into the stamp’s details while applying water, ensuring not to tear it as much as possible
  • To dry the piece, you can either leave it overnight or if you are impatient like me, use a heat gun. This time, since we had heavy rains, even the heat gun wasn’t working for me, so I used the microwave oven to heat it up. Since it is only paper and water, it is not harmful at all! πŸ™‚
  • If you find that not all the tissue papers have adhered, you can always use some glue to stick them back together.

Check out the Little Tangles Challenge blog for more inspiration from the DT. And hope you join the fun!

Thank you so much for stopping by! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “#674 – Its The Season for Pumpkin Everything!

Leave a Reply

