#885 – Stamping on White Ink

PE: Winner at Watercooler Wednesday challenge!!

Watercolor Wednesday - Winner Badge

Hello and welcome!! The card I made today was a big experiment. I tried to use this technique taught by Heather Nichols, where you first add a layer of white pigment ink, dry it completely and then stamp on it. I think this technique was also taught by Jennifer McGuire some time ago.. though I don’t have the link for that.

Anyway, this is the card I made, which was actually the card I made for Papa for his birthday.

It actually took a few attempts to perfect this. I found on the first few tries that the ink was either too light, or even a dark ink was vanishing. The trick that did it for me, was the completely dry the white pigment ink before stamping anything else, using only mid-dark toned inks, and also heat drying that ink immediately after stamping. That made most of the colors show.

Coming back to the actual card. I don’t have any oval masks, so I cut out one using an acetate sheet and die-cutting it with My Favorite Things Zig Zag Stitched Oval. I used this as the mask for the entire card.

The flowers come WPlus9 Watercolored Anemones and Fresh Cut Florals. I also added some splatters of the same ink on top. Once everything was dry, I felt the card to be too empty – lets face it, CAS cards are my weakness! So I used the other part of the acetate to mask my stamping, then used brushed some brown ink using a makeup brush, and also stamped the leafy image from Reverse Confetti Tall Blooms.

Before sticking this on the card, I dry embossed the card base using a die from Winnie & Walter Essentials: Lana Cutaways. I then adhered the created panel on top. The sentiment is from Lesia Zgharda called Happy Birthday. Finally, I added some dots over the flower centers and lines over the leaves using gold and silver Uniball gel pens.

I am joining the following challenges:

Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge: Botanicals

SSS - Monday Challenge

Watercooler Wednesday challenge: All About Occasions

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Anything Goes

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

And that completed my card. Thank you so much for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “#885 – Stamping on White Ink

  1. Lovely make Ashwini, I usually stamp in white and color with pencils on kraft. This looks fabulous, happy birthday to your Papa!

  2. Looks very interesting Ashwini ! I tried this technique on black but the colors didn’t show up much, i didn’t wait for the inks to dry may be that was the reason.I like how the colors show up on your card.

  3. I remember seeing this technique, or similar, back in the day. Flowers are beautiful and the background looks so cool, reminds me of leather. Perfect for a masculine card… and for everyone who loves crafting :). Congratulations on your win!

  4. Well that certainly was a process you went through to create this wonderful card. I have similar problems whenever I try to use white pigment ink. I am glad you persevered with this as the end result is stunning. Love those splatters too xx

Leave a comment