#886 – A Vintage Thank You

PE: Winner at CAS(E) This Sketch challenge! So unexpected for me!! Yippie!!

CASE This Sketch - Challenge Winner

Winner at Color Hues!!! Wowzers!!!

Color Hues - Challenge Winner

Retro Rubber challenge Top Pick!! Wow, is this card proving to be lucky for me!!

Retro Rubber Challenge - Top Pick

Hello! Most of us already know about a new challenge – conceived and hosted by my dear friend Nancy – Color Hues challenge! A BIG congrats to Nancy on starting this!! Of course, I couldn’t miss the very first challenge!

The first challenge is to use Yellow and Green. I used some old stamps, that I hadn’t used in some time and did some watercoloring using my Prisma watercolor pencils.

First, I stamped the images from Simon Says Stamp Summer Garden and Sketch Ranunculus using Pumice Stone distress ink, then watercolored them using my Prisma watercolor pencils. Of course, since I stamped with distress ink, the outlines were diluted while watercoloring. So, I redrew some of the outline using a Copic grey colored marker. I also added a few splatters in green and grey colors on top.

I then distressed the edges and mounted it over watercolor paper – I liked the look of consistency of color and texture with the watercolor cardstock. For the sentiment, I used Simon Says Stamp Nutty Over You. I then fussy cut it, foam mounted it over the card. Of course, I didn’t add any extra embellishments, since I wanted to keep it pretty simple. So, that finished my card.

I am joining the following challenges –

CASE this Sketch challenge#338

Color Hues challenge #1

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Use Your Favorite Stamp

SSS - Monday Challenge

Retro Rubber Challenge #143 (I believe the stamps I used on the images were released at 2014 and 2016)

RRCB 143

Thank you so much for stopping by!

29 thoughts on “#886 – A Vintage Thank You

  1. You have put a huge smile on my face this morning! Thanks for the sweet shout out and for playing along in our first challenge at Color Hues! Now as for this gorgeous card in front of my eyes! WOW! This came out so lovely Ashwini! I love how you laid down the colors so lightly and I do agree I really love the texture of the watercolor paper on cards, it makes them so classy I think. Thanks for being such a sweet friend and for playing along! HUGS!

  2. Such a beautiful card! I love that you’ve made these colours subtle – your colouring is impressive! I like the way you’ve scaled down the sentiment from the sketch and let the flowers be the stars. Thanks for joining in with us at Retro Rubber Challenge this week.

  3. This is stunning! I love the vintage feel of your image and the way you have coloured it. Great use of the challenge colours. Really like how you added your sentiment, really takes nothing away from that beautiful image. Thanks for joining us at Retro Rubber this time. Claire DT

  4. We’re so grateful you added this beauty to our CTS gallery! Congratulations on both of your wins, Ashwini! SO deserving, my friend! This is absolutely exquisite! You have such a wonderful way of coloring your images, my friend! Ethereal, and loose = perfection!
    =]

  5. Such a beautiful take on this stamp set, Ashwini! You have been rocking this set in the most creative ways… wow!
    Congratulations on all the wins and HM… you deserve each and everyone of them!

Leave a comment