#375 – Timeout Challenge Reminder (Guest Designer)

Hello! Its time for a reminder at Timeout Challenge – have you participated yet? If not, there’s another round of inspiration from the design team over at Timeout Challenge! Just drop over, get inspired and start creating! 😀

The theme this time is ‘Snowflakes are Winter’s Butterflies’. Last time, I got inspired by snowflakes. I initially thought of creating another snowflake themed card, but I changed my thought to getting inspired by some butterflies instead. And here’s what I created –

2015-11-12(1a)

I brought out with all the small and medium sized butterfly dies I have and after die-cutting a panel from Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles, I cut these butterflies from it. I used dies from Tattered Lace Butterflies, Sizzix Butterflies 3 and Paper Smooches Butterfly Duet. My intension was to use the negative pieces, instead of the usual positive pieces. I then chose a fancy, abstract pattern paper from K & Company, adhered it over the card base and adhered the butterfly panel over it. I did think of making this a shaker card – but then it would be a shaker card, not a butterfly card! 😛

2015-11-12(1b)

Well, coming to the sentiment, I used Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint die and stamp sets and a strip of vellum to adhere them over. I thought of using some sequins but then switched to star wood veneer from Studio Calico to embellish.

Hope you got inspired! If not, here’s another card using the same concept of die-cut negative of butterflies (well, almost! :P) –

2015-11-11(1)

For this card, I used Paper Smooches Butterfly Duet and pattern paper from K & Company. The sentiment too, came from Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint, which I stamped in Hero Arts Tide Pool ink. The change from the first card, is that I added some color paper behind the negatives – guess that would have shown up more if there was less pattern from the pattern paper. I got this idea from this card by Yana Smakula – isn’t it just fantastic – I just love those cats!! 😀

I would like to thank Sandie for the opportunity to be a GD and the Timeout challenge team for giving us such amazing inspiration every time! Thank you so much for all those lovely cards!

And thanks for stopping by! 🙂

10 thoughts on “#375 – Timeout Challenge Reminder (Guest Designer)

  1. Both of your cards are wonderful. Your placement of the die cut butterflies really gives so much motion and energy to the card. Thanks so much for being a fab Guest Designer for us at Time Out.

  2. These are both so lovely, Ashwini … the crisp white butterfly panel is gorgeous over the bright, vibrant DP … and the sense of movement is fabulous! Delighted to have had you guest designing with us over at Time Out! Anita 🙂

  3. I am in awe the way you use patterned paper in your designs – so striking yet CAS at the same time – and this butterfly card is no exception – completely gorgeous! Thanks so much for bringing your inspiration to us at Time Out! Jill

Leave a comment