#727 – Guest Designing for Timeout Challenge

Hello! So very excited to be Guest Designing at Timeout challenge! It feels wonderful to join the amazing ladies in this team!!

The challenge this time is a Theme Challenge, with the theme being “Hobbies” and the sponsors are CAS-ual Friday stamps.

hobbies

Now, I do have quite a few hobbies, but how do I represent them in a card?!?? Somehow I ended up picking up an easy one. Reading.

2018-01-27(1a)

I used to be quite an avid reader, but somehow that’s decreased to more than I like in the last few years. I am going to make a real effort to rising my “reading time” again this year, so wish me luck! 🙂

Coming back to the card – I used images from Waffle Flower Bird and Bear along with a stack of books that I drew by hand, colored them using distress ink and fussy cut them. For the background, I used double die cut – Lil Inker Designs Diamond Lace die along with Spellbinders Labels 24 die. The sentiment comes from Honey Bee Stamps Sentiment Builder stamp. The card base is Fabriano Elle Erre paper.

Do take a time out and join the challenge – and do checkout the Timeout Challenge blog, the spectacular DT has some fabulous inspiration in store for you! 🙂

Joining the following challenges with my card –

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Take Note

SSS - Monday Challenge

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Add a Die Cut

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Happy Little Stampers: February Anything Goes with Dies challenge

Happy Little Stampers - Anything Goes With Dies Badge

Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

26 thoughts on “#727 – Guest Designing for Timeout Challenge

  1. So good to have you as Guest Designer and with such a stunning card. There is so much detail here! Wow to the hand drawing-the books look fab and all the layering you have added gives your card amazing dimension. I also love to read and their is nothing like a hard back book to make the experience of reading more fun x

    • It’s really so sweet of you, Sandie! I really appreciate all your encouraging words and kind comments! And I agree — reading off of physical books is always wonderful! 😃😘

  2. Good to see you stretching yourself and hand-drawing , keep it going !I expected to see something related to cardmaking 😉 Reading shown beautifully..loved the use of die-cuts:) Best off luck but don’t cut crafting time once you take up reading again 🙂
    Congrats on Guest designing:)

    • Ah, that’s actually not the first idea I got – imagine that! So strange!! 😕
      But I think there will be a cut in crafting time, when I start to read -can’t help it, I just get a little too engrossed!! 😆. Should be ok, right? I won’t stop it altogether, after all!! 😋

  3. So many things that I love about this card – the hand drawn books are perfection, that double-die cut backdrop is genius, and that bear and bird are adorable! I love your creativity and always look forward to your designs – thanks so much for bringing some of that fabulous creativity to us as our Guest Designer this week at Time Out 🙂 Jill

  4. Such a cute card! I love the happy, bright colors and that bear is just so cute… The books you drew look great, just like stamped! Great job with coloring and layout too. Thanks for being an inspiring GD at TIME OUT!

  5. Congratulations of your GD gig, Ashwini! I know you’ve earned it! Somehow I thought cooking would surely be your hobby of choice! But I, too, love a good read – in fact I cannot sleep at night without a few pages!
    LOve your darling bear, and hand-drawn books… so clever, and I adore those panels!
    =]

    • Ha ha! That Was my first thought, actually! But I didn’t have any corresponding stamps or dies, and I couldn’t come up with anything innovative to draw like these books – so reading it was!!
      But it is definitely to meet more book readers like this!!😉

  6. Such an adorable scene, Ashwini … so beautifully coloured and detailed (especially those hand drawn books!) … that little bear and his chick friend are just so cute! So happy to have you inspiring our players as our Guest Designer us at Time Out! Anita 🙂

  7. Such a wonderful card. So many wonderful details. I just love the Bird and Bear and those hand drawn books are fantastic. I am a children’s librarian, and spend most of my reading time with young adult novels. I love them. Good luck in your pursuit of more reading time, and thank you so much for joing us as Guest Designer at Time Out!

  8. awww!!! the stamp is so so cute!
    I love this card, love the color scheme and the white background, i also find the shape of your focus image being so original!!! I love it!!!
    Thank you for playing along with us over Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!
    We all hope to see you again soon!
    x Zoey

  9. I used to read all the time. For some reason that has fallen by the wayside. Love your card! Hope you get back to more reading soon!

Leave a comment