#895 – STB: Use Your Scraps

PE: Top Pick at the Inkspirational Challenge!!

Inkspirational - Winner

Hello and welcome! Another three months left in the year…the months seem to pass both quickly and slowly..as always! And as always, we have a new challenge up at the Seize the Birthday challenge! This time, it was the turn of our wonderful teammate Lindsey to pick the topping and she chose ‘Use Your Scraps’.

And here’s what I created –

The scrap – or something that I made and just didn’t use – is the top panel. I don’t even remember when I had created that panel, but I remember being ridiculously frustrated about it.

When I made it, I used the perfectly wrong cardstock. It just refused to listen to anything! I couldn’t stamp, couldn’t emboss, the ink just would evaporate as if it wasn’t paper at all! Somehow I struggled and got some embossing on it – I used verdigris ep. And then I watercolored it using some distress inks. Thankfully, that didn’t evaporate! πŸ˜‰ But it still wasn’t looking that good, so I misted it with some water mixed with Perfect Pearls hoping it would save the piece.

Now, I wasn’t really impressed with the end result then, so I ended up just pushing it my ‘dunno what I should do with this‘ stash. But this time, I thought I could make some thing from it.

I first cut the panel diagonally, and traced it over my white ard base. I then die cut a piece of white cardstock using Paper Trey Ink Triangles die, and adhered it directly on the card base by aligning it with the line I drew earlier. I also trimmed the excess. Following that, I foam mounted the panel.

For the sentiment, I used Honey Bee Stamps Hooray Day die. For the shadow die cut, I experimented some more with Brustro Iridescent gold metallic paper. I cut out a piece and colored it with Zig brush marker pens. I colored in layers, wiping the color in between – the paper acted somewhat like vellum, partially retaining the color so that the rest could be wiped away. I then die cut this sheet and also some white cardstock for the sentiment, adhering the pieces together, which I then adhered to the card. I embellished the card using a few sequins.

That is my card! Glad I could finally put that troublesome piece to good use! πŸ˜€

I’m joining the following challenges with this card –

Watercooler Wednesday challenge #292: Anything Goes with a Feminine Twist

Inkspirational Challenge #223: Angle It

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Make it Sparkle

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

For more inspiration, checkout the Seize the Birthday challenge blog for more inspiration from our Surprise Party Guest Angie Cimbalo and our wonderful design team!

Thank you for stopping by!

30 thoughts on “#895 – STB: Use Your Scraps

  1. It is funny how that happens, you struggle to make something then think it looks terrible and put it away. It is like magic when you find it again and manage to make something wonderful, wondering all the time why you thought it was rubbish at first. That happens to me a lot and I think that little watercolored panel is stunning and I love what you have done with it xx

  2. Glad you saved that piece you had so much trouble with as it looks lovely on your card. I also like the triangle die cut panel. Great card Ashwini.

  3. Sometimes putting a troublesome piece aside is the best idea – I love it when you come back to it and it looks so much better than you remember. πŸ˜‰ This is a beautiful panel, and perfectly used here! I don’t think I’ve ever used my verdigris ep (a favourite) for anything but trees, so thank you for that inspiration as well.

  4. My hat is off to you as you hung on to make something out of this original piece that you struggled with. I think if has a drean=my look to it and glad that you stuck with it.

  5. Your scrap looks fabulous paired with the triangle diecut Aswini! Love how you’ve angled it too. It was definitely worth keeping, Cathy x

  6. This is a prime example of why we or I get rid of nothing. LOL. This came out so well! Love the mix of floral and geometrics! Makes for such a fun design! Way to go Ashwini!

  7. The watercolored floral panel looks beautiful and elegant to me! Great use of it combined with a geometric panel! Superb card, Ashwini!

  8. Glad you stuck with it! It is gorgeous – definitely has a handmade paper feel. Love the diagonal cut and the triangle panel. Well cone.

Leave a comment