CASology #143: Ombre

PE: Honorable Addict at Addicted to Stamps Challenge!

Addicted To Stamps #141: Anything Goes: Honorable AddictHello! I made a card last night for the CASology challenge. The theme was ombre, which got me thinking – there are so many techniques and methods that can be applied to get an ombre look on a card – what could make mine different? The answer came in the form of a card from Tasnim here. I love the way she has used small square blocks as the main focal background. And then the black flower vine on it just brings everything together so beautifully. Couldn’t resist CASEing it! πŸ™‚

I made two cards using the same method –

2015-04-22(3)

I cut 1 inch squares of watercolor paper and painted on them to get an ombre effect and adhered them on the card base using foam dots. For the first card I used shades of brown, red, orange and yellow. Then used Honey Blossom Sprig from Memory Box and Hello from Memory Box dies.

2015-04-22(4)

For the second card, I used ombre shades of blue, green and purple, reducing the watercolor pigment concentrating for each square. I used Flutter Vine from Memory Box and the sentiment is from All Occasion Messages from Hero Arts stamped using Memento Tuxedo Black.

I just love the way these turned out – simple, but so full of color and life!! πŸ™‚

CASology Week #143: Ombre

Also submitting this to Addicted To Stamps Challenge #141: Anything Goes

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “CASology #143: Ombre

  1. Totally dazzling and striking cards.
    Love how you’ve used the ombre look and the grids are just inspirational
    Thanks for sharing and playing along at ATSM challenge

  2. These are both beautiful! I love the idea of the squares in the background with the black silhouettes! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

    • Thank you Miriam! Yes, the first one is more striking. But I also love the pastel look of the second one. So, its kinda hard for me to decide which one I like best! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment