Orikami and Watercoloring

PE: Honorable mention at Sovushka Slavia!!

Sovushka Slavia Top 5

Hello! Back with another card!

I wanted to make a card with watercoloring for some time now – with watercoloring used not as the focal point, but something to accentuate whatever was supposed to be on the card. And I wasn’t looking for the proper watercoloring techniques – something different. Then, I came across this card from Chupa. Isn’t it gorgeous! I kinda picked the part where she has added the splotchy watercoloring – but I didn’t flick any colors, I kinda dabbed a little of the darker colors in with the lighter colors, when the paper was still wet. And this is what I got –

I then stamped the sentiment from Sentiment Sampler from Paper Smooches in Hero Arts Black ink. The background piece was something I had made some time ago for another card. After mounting the trimmed watercolor panel on this, I added a few star wood veneers as embellishment.

That’s it. Quick and easy 🙂

Submitting the card for following challenges –

Sovushka Slavia Card Sketch Challenge #24

Sovushka Slavia Card Sketch Challenge #24Uniko Studio Challenge #20 – Things With Wings

The Paper Players #241 – Clean And Simple : Watercolors

The Paper Players #241 - Clean And Simple : WatercolorsThanks for stopping by!

21 thoughts on “Orikami and Watercoloring

  1. Wow! Super striking, great watercolouring and a fabulous image to share in our challenge.
    Thanks so much for playing along at Uniko Studio
    Sarah x

    • Thanks!! But, its not pp – I swiped some Frayed Burlap distress ink over some brown packing paper and adhered it to the card base!! Cool, right! 😛

  2. Ashwini this is gorgeous! Love the background, the splash of watercolor and of course the origami birds! Thanks for sharing with us this week at The Paper Players!

  3. Hi Ashwini, I am always amazed by your creativity. I just subscribed to your posts so I don’t miss any more of your creations! The water colourimg here works a treat and that bg is stunning. So pleased you joined is at Uniko x

  4. Ashwini, what a wonderful take on our sketch! Love the tender watercoloured background and the stamped images contrasting the rough “wooden” panel. Thanks a lot for playing with us at Sovushka Slavia!

  5. Love how you’ve have added the watercoloring to your design. The diagonal strip works wonderfully against the dark & bold BG. Thanks so much for joining in on the Uniko Studio Challenge. Hugs Bev x

  6. Very cool card! I really love how you used the watercolor. Those stars are a perfect finishing touch! Thanks so much for linking up to the Uniko Studio challenge!

Leave a comment