#854 – STB: Show Me Your White Space

PE: Honorable Mention at Timeout Challenge!

Timeout Challenge - Honorable Mention

Hello and welcome to another edition of Seize the Birthday challenge! For this challenge, anytime is ‘Anything Goes’ as long as it’s a birthday theme, but, if want little challenge, you can choose to go with the Topping.  This time, the topping, chosen by Barbara is ‘Show Me Your White Space.’

And what Barbara has mentioned about white space –
“The idea of white space doesn’t refer to a primarily white card (though often, as is the case, but rather, the idea of leaving a significant portion of your design open, free from embellishment, allowing your focal point to truly shine.
(Taken from MFT Summer School 2018)”

Thank you! And so, I haven’t used a white card base!! 😀

2020-02-01(1a-logo)

I started with a dark blue card stock. I added the scattered gold dots in the background using the dotted stamp from Simon Says Stamp Falling Backgrounds stamp and heat embossing it with chunky gold ep. Since I used chunky ep, I got a splattered effect instead of round dots.

I then stamped the flower from Altenew Persian Motifs and heat embossed it in gold twice, to get some dimension. I also stamped, gold embossed a few pieces of leaves. I then fussy cut all of them.

2020-02-01(1b-logo)

The stamped piece of the sentiment comes from Winnie & Walter Sentimental: Birthday, which I stamped in a mix of inks to end up with a color near to the cardstock’s color.

I also die cut a few pieces of white cardstock scraps usig the MFT Elegant Rectangle and Simon Says Stamp ‘You’ dies. I then colored one of the ‘You’ red using my Zig brush pen. Of the framed diecuts, I trimmed of one end of each diecut. I then adhered all of the pieces.

Finally, I adhered all the pieces together, added a single gold sequin for embellishing…. and there you have it! That’s my card for the challenge, all ready! 😉

I am also joining the following challenges –

Watercooler Wednesday challenge #258: Occasion

Addicted to Stamps and More challenge #376: Anything Goes

Addicted to Stamps - Anything Goes

Timeout Challenge #155: Inspired by Words

Check out the Seize the Birthday challenge blog for more amazing inspiration from our talented team and our talented Surprise Party Guest, Joyce Mehrberg!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

42 thoughts on “#854 – STB: Show Me Your White Space

  1. One of these days I’ll get back into regular visits. Lucky for me today I picked this one. What a stunning cas card, such an elegant design.

  2. This is stunning, I love how you arranged all the elements and the colours are so dramatic…my fav bit is the gold dots added-a lovely arty touch. Thanks for joining Time Out x

  3. Bold and beautiful! Your white and gold floral on the navy is stunning. And, the red sentiment is wonderful. We are so pleased that you joined us at Watercooler Wednesday. Karen – DT

  4. What a beautiful choice of colors! Love the pop of red against the navy! Gorgeous card and great job showing our followers that you don’t have to make a white card to achieve white space!

  5. WOW ! Very eye catching card with this elegant black/white/gold combo and the gorgeous touch of red. And this design is just striking. So many beautiful details and yet so CAS. LOVE it. Thanks so much for sharing and for playing along at ATSM.

  6. I love your dark blue “white” space, Ashiwini! With that gold it’s just gorgeous! And the red sentiment is the highlight! I could have never picked red for that card!

    • Thank you so much TaeEun! I actually got inspired by Yana Smakula’s cards, she used a brighter variation of the blue cardstock, with a lovely red. It was looking so good, I just had to use it myself! 😄

  7. This is stunning! That ‘you’ die is one of my favourites. Love the layout too. I considered doing a different colour on the back too but the white just called out to me. Well done – as usual.

  8. Such a striking card, love the navy gold and red. Those gold dots look amazing with the gold inked bloom and that pop of red. I never think to use coloured card bases, this is a real beauty, Cathy x

Leave a comment