#923 – A Prickly Thought!

PE: Winner at Addicted to Stamps and More!!!

Addicted to Stamps - Winner

Rocker at the Watercooler Wednesday challenge!!

Watercolor Wednesday - Honorable Mention

Hello and welcome! With the start of the a new month, we have the start of a new Watercolor challenge at the Happy Little Stampers challenge! As usual, it is an Anything Goes challenge.

Happy Little Stampers - Watercolor Challenge - Anything Goes

And here’s my inspiration for you for this month –

I used the image from Waffle Flower Potted stamp set and stamped it on watercolor paper using VersaFine black ink. Now I wanted it to have the look of a sketch, so I used an extra fine pen and drew over the lines again, adding a few more pricklies. Once done, I messy watercolored the bunch of cactii and also the table and wall behind it using Gansai Tambi watercolors.

Once it dried, I added a few splatters of black ink on top. Finally, I added the sentiment, from The Stamp Market Scripty Sentiments using black ink. I trimmed the panel, mounted it on a grey card base. I added a couple of strips of black card stock to balance everything out.

And that finishes my card. I’m joining the following challenges with it –

Addicted to Stamps and More #399: Anything Goes

Addicted to Stamps - Anything Goes

Watercooler Wednesday challenge #310: All About Occasion

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Anything Goes

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Hop over to the Happy Little Stampers challenge to get more wonderful inspiration from the rest of our creative DT. And thank you so much for stopping by!

18 thoughts on “#923 – A Prickly Thought!

  1. Your watercoloring is so effective, I love the look and what a good idea to add extra interest by going over with a fine liner. You have created a wonderful background too xx

  2. Oh, now I feel nostalgic! This is one of my favorite stamps, although I don’t use it that much… as many others. Love your messy watercoloring and realistic background too!

  3. Beautiful! I really love your well executed “messy watercoloring” and all the pen details you added in. Excellent card! Thanks for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday! Karen

  4. Creative watercoloring on this cactus, I could never think of doing something like this! Not sure how it will look if I tried also!

Leave a comment