#932 – Purple Poppies

PE: Inkspirational challenge Top Pick!!

Inkspirational - Winner

Winner at Just Add Ink! Yippie!!

Just Add Ink - Winner

Hello and welcome! My sister had her birthday the last week and this is the card I made for her. I wanted her card to look like it was a frame out of a field of flowers. And here’s what I made –

The entire thing is free hand watercoloring. I wanted to make poppies, but didn’t want to use the well known red in it. So I chose purple instead. I drew the outline of the larger flowers in a light handed pencil, and then watercolored it using Gansai Tambi watercolors. The paper is Canson XL.

Once everything was dry, I splattered a bit of green and brown, and once that too was dry, I trimmed the panel to size. Before mounting this on a black card base, that I had measured and cut out, I drew a frame using a Versamark pen and heat embossed it using clear embossing powder. I then adhered the watercolored panel using double sided tape.

For the sentiment, I die cut a few pieces of black cardstock using a die from Altenew Essential Sentiment Strips and adhered them together. I then clear embossed the top a couple of times to make it shiny. This, I adhered to the card. I also added a few sequins to embellish and finish my card.

I’m joining the following challenges with this card –

Just Add Ink challenge #549: Choose Any Two – I chose Leaves and Petals

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Happy Birthday

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Inkspirational challenge #236: Grow

Thank you so much for stopping by!

20 thoughts on “#932 – Purple Poppies

  1. Oh my! This is stunning Ashwini! I love the choice of making the poppies purple. They are just so bright and vibrant. Your watercolouring is just amazing! I’m sure your sister loved the card! Thanks for playing along this week at Just Add Ink. Rochelle xo

  2. Absolutely gorgeous! I think your frame of wildflowers warrants a frame! This is a work of ART! Thank you for joining us at Inkspirational!
    ~carol

  3. I saw that you were a winner and then read that this is completely freehand….WHAT? AMAZING!!!!!!! Congrats on your win and so well deserved. Happy Birthday to your sister too.

  4. Wow… this is GORGEOUS! I am so impressed by this beautiful watercolor… I think you could frame it as art work! We love having you at Inkspirational!
    – Shauna

Leave a comment