#1068 – Inspired by a Gorgeous Handbag!

Hello and welcome! I am super happy to be joining the Timeout challenge as Guest Designer today! I was lucky to win one of their previous challenges and was invited to GD today and I got the picture of a pretty handbag to play with! The handbag is a handmade bag designed and made by Kim Heggins of Running Stitch Design, who is the sponsor for the current challenge and a former Time Out Design Team Member.

Here’s the handbag in a bigger picture –

And here’s my creation in honor of this bag –

I started with the flowers – Winnie & Walter In Bloom: Victoria’s Very Merry Flowers – inking the stamp and misting it with water and stamping it on white cardstock. Once they dried, fussy cut them and set them aside.

For the background, I wanted something that reminded me of fabric, but I didn’t have anything exact, so I chose something similar. I die cut a panel of white cardstock using Simon Says Stamp Stitching Panel, backed it with a strip of grey cardstock and adhered it over white card base. I then arranged and adhered my flower pieces over the card.

For the sentiment I die cut a couple of pieces of grey cardstock using Penny Black Many Thanks die and adhered the pieces to make it a bit sturdier, and then adhered it over my card.

And that’s my card! Do hop over to the Timeout challenge blog to checkout the creations from the ever-inspiring DT and join the fun – it’s a double win this time, because the Challenge Winner will receive the bag as a prize along with an invitation to be a Guest Designer for a future challenge!!

I’m joining the following challenges with my card –

The Paper Players challenge 665: Give Thanks

Addicted to Stamps and More challenge #456: Make Your Mark

Addicted to Stamps - Make Your Mark

Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

9 thoughts on “#1068 – Inspired by a Gorgeous Handbag!

  1. Hello Ashwini! What a stunning card with the beautiful floral layout and the creative use of the stitching panel. Love how you thought about the fabric too. Perfect inspiration for this challenge. So good to have you as our guest at Time out 🙂 Thank you and hugs ❤

  2. Congrats on your GD spot. Very well deserved. I do love your take on the inspiration. Using that stitching die and using the dark strip to create a shadow works so well on the background. Love that you have left some of the cut pieces in the holes too. Your flower spray is gorgeous too. Such a lovely GD card xx

  3. Ashwini, Your card is gorgeous. I love the background panel and the beautiful flowers, Thanks for taking part in The Paper Players Challenge this week.

  4. Beautiful bouquet, Ashwini, and the stitching panel made a great background for it. So happy to have you guesting with us,

  5. Your card is gorgeous, Ashwini, and I like it even more as I read your post and learned how it was created. The stitching panel is pretty genius! What a wonderful way to think outside the box! Thank you so very much for joining us as Guest Designer. It is a joy to have you and your incredible artistry with us.

  6. So lovely Ashwini – love your arrangement and the use of the stitching panel was inspired! Thanks for joining us as our guest this challenge! Hugs, Kate!

Leave a comment