#1085 – Beach Birthday

Hello and welcome! Welcome to a new challenge at Seize the Birthday challenge! It’s always an Anything Goes challenge with an optional topping provided by the leading lady of that challenge. This time, our leading lady, Vicki, have chosen the topping as ‘Beach Theme‘.

And here’s what I made –

I don’t have any beach themed stamps or dies or stencils with me. I do have ocean themed ones, plenty for under the sea. So I had to make something myself. To top it, my mojo was running low..

So anyway, I browsed Pinterest searching for something that could easily watercolor, without taking too much time, and without me having to learn a new technique. There was one where the foam of waves were first drawn using white wax crayons and then the piece was watercolored. I tried that, but of course, it didn’t work… Nothing would work and I finally gave up and instead used an even simpler technique. I used messy watercoloring for the beach and used coloring over stencil (Neat and Tangled Rice Paddies) to create the waves.

I then drew and painted the starfish over a scrap piece of watercolor paper. And then I fussy cut it.

The piece which I had previously watercolored dried up and I wanted to die cut it with My Favorite Things Stitched Wonky Rectangle. However the die didn’t cut the paper completely when I ran it the first time and ended up shifting the second time… Sigh.. just wasn’t my day. 😦 So then, I managed to save the piece by just trimming off the points which were double die cut.

I then thought of stamping the sentiment right over the beach segment, so that it would look like someone wrote it on the beach. I used Winnie and Walter Wish Big With Evelin T Designs stamp and Waffle Flower Congrats stamp for the sentiment. I finally foam mounted the watercolored piece on white card base and also adhered the starfish on it. And that finished my card!

Although I had a pretty shaky start and mishaps in between, I do somehow like what I ended up with. I will, however, find time to learn how to make the waves look better! 🙂

Now, there is loads of better inspiration and they are all creative in the Seize the Birthday blog. We also have some wonderful inspiration from our guest. Check them out and get inspired to join the party! 🙂

Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

20 thoughts on “#1085 – Beach Birthday

  1. You should like it. I think it is a very clever idea beautifully executed. Love the writing in the sand effect. It really works well. You are so good with those watercolours. I share your frustrations with the mishaps that happened along the way, but the finished card was worth it xx

  2. Goodness, I’d never think you had trouble creating this wonderful water colored beach! It certainly did end up a beautiful piece! I had to laugh when you said you couldn’t even cut the frame right – but I think it looks great off set!! Julia xx

  3. I am sorry that your mojo is running low, but you pulled one out of your pocket of ideas. Nice job! It is peaceful and serene.

  4. Well, I am glad you are happy with it as I certainly am and so are others. I love your perseverance, Ashwini! I think your starfish is the icing on the cake. Well done my dear!

  5. You’ve managed to capture the texture of the sand and waves beautifully Ashwini, I think it’s a fabulous card, love the writing in the sand and the cute little starfish too, Cathy x

  6. Well nobody would know you struggled with this, Ashwini! Your watercolouring gives the sand and the sea real texture, and I love how the sentiment is written in the sand. And I love even more the extra-wonky border – I might have to CASE that idea!

Leave a comment