#1084 – STB: Off The Edge

PE: Tic Tac Toe challenge Designer’s Choice!!

Tic Tac Toe - Winner

Hello and welcome! Welcome to the next challenge at Seize the Birthday challenge! It’s always an Anything Goes challenge with an optional topping provided by our leading ladies. This time, our leading lady, Shirley, have chosen the topping as ‘Off the Edge‘.

And here’s what I created –

I used MFT Fancy Flowers on white cardstock to stamp the flowers and leaves using Simon Says Stamp Intense Black ink and colored them using Zig Brush Markers. Once they dried, I fuzzy cut them right up, as close to the edge as possible. I also colored the back of the images black. This would help it not look so odd when the card is opened.

Next, I used a trimmed piece of black cardstock for the card base. Instead of the regular 4.25″ x 5.5″, this one is 3.5″x5.5″. In fact, this is a proper leftover after trimming out regular size cards from a 12″x12″ cardstock! What a great idea to use to spend all those scraps! 😀

So, anyway, I used another piece of the same width to die cut from Neat and Tangled Star cover plate. I then adhered that over the black card base. And then when adhering the flowers and leaves, I kept a scrap piece of 4.25″ x 5.5″ beneath it and adhered the flowers so that the width is covered. So the card becomes 4.25″ x 5.5″ and can be used with a regular envelope.

For the sentiment, I used MFT Anything but Basic Birthday Wishes stamp set. I stamped it over white cardstock, trimmed it and rounded off the top right corner before foam mounting it on the card.

And that’s my card. I’ll be joining the following challenges too –

Addicted to Stamps and More challenge #466: Make Your Mark

Addicted to Stamps - Make Your Mark

Paper Craft Crew Challenge ##567: Floral Theme

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Anything Goes

Tic Tac Toe challenge #246 (with the diagonal element Flowers-Free-Die cuts)

Checkout the Seize the Birthday challenge blog for more inspiration from our talented DT and from our party guests.

Thank you so much for stopping by!

32 thoughts on “#1084 – STB: Off The Edge

  1. This looks gorgeous. I just love the bright colours with the lovely contrast from the black. The extra texture from the die cut cover plate just enhances the whole look. I think I have that flower stamp set and it is a very long time since it has been used. You have made it look wonderful. I might just have to get it out and stamp it up. Thank you xx

  2. I think that you and I thought about this challenge in the same way. I love your flowers and I almost did a flower card too. Great contrast of colors too. Amazing card!

  3. Ashwini, beautiful card and water coloring. Love how striking it is with the black panel. Have a great weekend.

  4. Such a pretty card, Ashwini! Love your take on the Topping! I was just gifted a huge supply of Zigs, I hope I can do half as good as you can!

  5. Your flowers really pop against the textured black Ashwini, amazing fussy cutting too, such a pretty card, Cathy x

  6. Gorgeous card. I love the contrast between the bright colors and the black. Great job with the Zig markers.

    Thanks for joining us at Addicted to Stamps and More!

    sue n.

  7. Fab interpretation of Off The Edge, Ashwini! The black card enhances the colours of the flowers, and I love the subtle lattice layer.

  8. Oh the drama of those gorgeous flowers against the black textured card Ashwini! Just love this pretty design. Thank you for coming to play with us at Tic Tac Toe Challenge! Vicky x

  9. The beautiful flowers really pop on the textured black card. The flowers are so terrific – big and bold with sharp edges. Great card!

Leave a comment