Stencil flowers

Stencils – the one resource which can be used in such diverse, exhaustive ways, you can’t get enough of them! This card, I made with my new Fevicryl Chrysanthemum Flower stencil, which I bought from my local stationary store (so cheap, but such large and good quality stencils!).

I picked up a black card stock panel, and started applying some purple pigment ink from Colorbox and once (mostly) dry, I outlined all the petals with some ย silver ink using my Uniball Signo silver gel pen. Then I noticed that the purple wasn’t showing across amidst all that silver at all! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And so I went back, and painted all those petals with some acrylic paint.

The paint did get over the silver outlines, but I went over them again, also increasing the thickness near the outer edges with it. I then came back and added a few little strokes using my black glitter gel pen. And then while it was wet, I came back with my Wink of Stella clear brush pen, and colored all the petals, while bringing the black with the purple and bringing it a little further into the petals. That’s a lot of glitter! But it all looks fabulous on the black! ๐Ÿ™‚

I then outlined a curved edge below the flower using a pencil and fuzzy cut it and foam mounted it on the card base. I then stamped the sentiment from Penny Black Dahlia stamp set using Memento Grape Jelly ink just beside the mounted panel.

I must mention that I’ve been inspired by Karolyn’s card here.

I am submitting this card to ColourMe Card Challenge #53

Thanks for looking!

7 thoughts on “Stencil flowers

  1. Well, all your hard work paid off Ashwini, because the end result is gorgeous! Love your use of a stencil and the acrylic paint adds so much texture. Thanks for sharing your creation with us at CMCC!

  2. Pingback: #390 – The Best of the Past Year | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a comment