#396 – Snowflake Joy

PE: Winner at Merry Monday Challenge!!!

Merry Monday - Challenge Winner

Hello! Back with another card today.

It is kinda rare for me to use card base with color other than white – I do use pattern papers over the card base, but changing the color is something that doesn’t occur to me much. Neither does stamping the sentiment in any color other than black. That is even rarer – in fact, it almost feelsΒ  like I’ve got some brilliant idea when I stamp the sentiment in a non-black color! πŸ˜€ So, this card, which includes both, is pretty rare –

2016-01-12

For this card, I tried making a partial plaid pattern on the red card base. I used Winnie & Walter Scenery:Stripes along with Memento Tuxedo Black, Hero Arts Soft Granite and Hero Arts Unicorn inks, and mostly restricted the criss-crossing only in the upper right – I don’t think its so apparent in the end – but its ok πŸ˜›

Once I was done, I cut the snowflakes from Simon Says Stamp More Fun Flakes from white card stock and also card stock with I had painted with silver acrylic paint – this gives a beautiful metallic look – love it! πŸ™‚ I then cut another piece of white card stock for the sentiment, cutting the top to a curved edge. The sentiment, from Paper Trey Ink ‘Tis The Season is stamped using ink from Faber Castell red stamp pad. I then adhered the pieces together and added some clear rhinestones over the snowflakes – what are snowflakes with out rhinestones on them! πŸ˜›

Submitting this to Christmas Card Challenge #6 – Anything Goes, Merry Monday #187: Plaid and Just Us Girls #325: Metallic

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

55 thoughts on “#396 – Snowflake Joy

  1. Absolutely fabulous card Ashwini… The plaid background looks so perfect that I did assume it was a pattern paper at first…Simply brilliant work this is ☺😘

  2. WOw! That is impressive that you created the plaid. You have a good eye and a steady hand. This is quite a nice card. Love the crisp clean look of those white snowflakes layered over the silver ones, and of course with the jewels!

  3. Love that red plaid that you made there! The snowflakes show up beautifully against it! Great job on the sentiment too! Thanks, Ashwini, for sharing this with us a Merry Monday!

  4. Wow! The plaid would have had me all tangled up, but what a great job – love that you created it. The snowflakes are stunning! I’d certainly like to CASE this one!

  5. Well, it’s gorgeous! I thought it WAS dp! You stamped your own plaid so perfectly! Love the silver snowflakes and the rolling hills of snow! Lots of those where I live!
    Thanks for joining us this week at Just Us Girls!

  6. That’s impressive! The red and white are just beautiful. But how do you make the stripes straight? Do you use stamp-a-ma-jig?

  7. Love your plaid stamping. I find myself using white card bases all the time too and always stamping my sentiment in black. I have been trying to change that up a bit too. Your card is awesome!

  8. Perfect…everything about this card is perfect. Perfect choice of cardstock for your snowflakes and the sentiment is perfectly placed. This is a winner.

  9. Pingback: #405 – Guest Designer at Merry Monday!! | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a comment