#411 -Friends Like You

PE: Winner at The Challenge!!! (Yay!!)

The Challenge - Challenge Winner

One Layer Simplicity Challenge Winner!! (double yay!)

One Layer Simplicity Challenge - Winner

Hello!

Fine day for coloring! 🙂 I stamped this pretty flower from Ellen Hutson Bohemian Garden in Hero Arts Black ink, repeatedly, and using masking. I wanted to do some water-coloring on it, hence the Hero Arts ink instead of my usual Momento Tuxedo. I used Fabriano Aquarelle watercolor paper – fantastic thing, even though I did really light coloring – I could feel it! 🙂

2016-02-03(1)

I used distress inks for coloring, choosing inks for a softer palette. I went with Tumbled Glass, Spun Sugar and Mustard Seed (very light coloring with this) for the flowers and Crushed Olive and Mowed Lawn for the leaves (again, very light coloring). For the background of the flowers, I initially went with a light mixture of Pumice Stone and Brushed Corduroy, but thinking that there was no contrast at all, I re-colored it with black.

The sentiment is from Paper Trey Ink Wet Paint 3, which I stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black (yes, I just had to use that ink! :P) Finally added a dashed line around the card using Uniball Signo black gel pen.

Submitting this to a variety of challenges –

One Layer Simplicity Challenge #24: Friends

One Layer Simplicity Challenge - Blog

The Challenge #59: Sketch Challenge

Inspired By All The Little Things #2: Flowers (not a challenge, but I really wanted to add)

The Daily Color Challenge (Day 3)

Kathy Racoosin - The Daily Marker - Color Challenge

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

36 thoughts on “#411 -Friends Like You

  1. Oh, my WORD, Ashwini! Amazing how that grey makes the flowers pop right off the card – seriously, I thought I was going to have to remind you that it was a one-layer challenge! lol! Gorgeous! So glad you joined us at OLS!

  2. Just gorgeous! LOVE the soft colors contrasting with black!
    I have a Fabriano watercolor paper pad for about 15 years and I have never used it because I was hoping to learn a little bit more before I screw up many sheets. Still, it is crazy saving it for so many years… I guess it’s about time to use my Fabriano paper :).

    • Thank you so much Cris! I can imagine – I used to hoard papers till mid last year, when I finally made a pledge to use up as much as I can! 🙂 Hope you get yours out soon – I know there will be stunning creations to look at! 🙂

Leave a comment