#511 – A (Almost) Flat Shaker Card

PE: Winner at Little Tangles!! Yay! Guess all that thinking paid off! 😛

Neat & Tangled - Winner (Top Tangle)

Hello! Coming back after another spell.. Been busy with things lately, and the couple of times I attempted card making didn’t bring out presentable results..and hence delayed my blog posts too.. I was finally able to create this pretty shaker card – after thinking and thinking about it for 3 days!

2016-08-11(1a)

I first made an ombre background using Victorian Velvet distress ink, PTI Melon Berry and PTI Sweet Blush. Once it dried, I stamped Neat & Tangled Tiny Triangles using Memento Brilliance Platinum Planet and die cut the panel using Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangles.

The flowers, from Neat & Tangled Paper Cut Flowers and part of the sentiment, from SSS Sending Happy Thoughts are silver heat embossed; the other part of the sentiment, from Hero Arts All Occasion Messages is stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black.

2016-08-11(1b)

I wanted to make a flat shaker – the kind Jennifer McGuire has made quite a few times – and I wanted to use vellum. Now, that didn’t work, for various reasons, and I ended up with a clear one, Jule Ebersole style (not the card, just the shaker! :P)

I ended up making a shaker with some clear plastic sheet, folded and adhered at the back, choosing sequins that were flat, instead of cupped. And the card panel is directly adhered to the white card base. As flat as I could make it (since the sentiment is mounted on foam tape..)

Submitting this card to –

Little Tangles Challenge #71: Shakers and Sequins

Happy Little Stampers August Mixed Media Challenge: Metal (I’ve used platinum ink for stamping, then silver embossing, then of course, the sequins themselves! More mixed media is the watercoloring in the background)

The Heart Desires #3 (I’ve used the pink color in the picture, and lots of metallics)

Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Save

30 thoughts on “#511 – A (Almost) Flat Shaker Card

  1. Who needs flat when this is the result? Maybe just the sequins :)… truth be told, I’ve always preferred them flat, and these sequins you used produce quite an impact against the soft pink background. Gorgeous take on the challenges!

  2. I was wondering where were you Ashwini, looks we both are in a very similar situation this year 😉😂. The last time I had my mojo list, I was thinking maybe I have reached a saturation point with my crafting…lol
    But managed to pull out of it. After I came back from my holiday, I didn’t step in my craft room for many days, but thankfully it was change in the routine.
    Ok, to your card now. I love the flat shaker idea. I love the colors you chose as well. Very different, I should try using those shades. I like how you keep the images plain.
    Did you see the Paper Smooches Patrol? You are featured there – congratulations !

Leave a comment