#778 – A Beautiful Day with a Yellow Birdie

PE: Winner at Winnie & Walter Color Combo with Heather H!!! Yippie!!

Hello! This time I tried making a card with a birdie, with a little scenery to suite. Its sitting amidst blooming yellow flowers on a tree branch –

2018-07-25(1a)

Past cards carrying critters/birdies, I haven’t tried much to create my own scenic background – it was mostly stamping, so I thought of giving it a try this time. I stamped the bird first, and then the branch in a very light grey, then stamped the flowers and then the leaves (with the flowers masked). I then added brown to the branch, so that it would fall behind the flowers and the birdie.

I stamped, colored and fussy cut the birdie and the larger flowers separately. Before adhering them to the panel, I trimmed it and die cut it. At this point, I thought there was still a lot of white amidst the branch and leaves and everything – wasn’t exactly looking like a tree. So, I added some more greens by dabbing color using Zig brush pens – actually, I scribbled off some ink off an plastic sheet, then watercolored it, so that I could alter the shades to soft or darker. I still left quite some space – wonder if I should try to cover that too, the next time?? Anyway, after letting the whole thing dry, I adhered it to a yellow card base.

Products used –
Winnie & Walter In Bloom: Ashlee’s Rosie Posies with Lydia Evans
Winnie & Walter Happy Owlidays
Altenew Vintage Flowers (for the branch)
Lawn Fawn Stitched Borders
Paper Smooches Borders 2

With this card, I am joining the following challenges –

Winnie & Walter July Color Combo challenge with Heather H.

Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge: Wild Things

SSS - Monday Challenge

Happy Little Stampers August Watercolor challenge: Anything Goes with optional Flowers

Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

9 thoughts on “#778 – A Beautiful Day with a Yellow Birdie

  1. So beautiful! I love that yellow and that cute bird goes so perfectly with the font on your sentiment! Gorgeous!!! Thanks so much for joining us this month at Happy Little Stampers Watercolor Challenge!

  2. Oh wow! What a stunning card! The detail you were able to convey is remarkable. I love the color palette, too, and how you really made it pop against the background. Thank you so much for sharing your talents with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

  3. A beautifully watercoloured card. I love all the flowers in the background! Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers xx

Leave a comment