#901 – Seize the Birthday: Texture

PE: Top 3 at the AAA Birthday challenge!

AAA Birthday - Top 3

Hello and welcome! We have a new challenge at Seize the Birthday, and with a new Topping! This time, our dear team mate Glenda has given us the Topping of including ‘Texture’ in our birthday projects. But, if you are not a topping person, anytime is ‘Anything Goes’ as long as it’s a birthday theme.

I went for an easy to make card this time. And here’s what I made –

The background, full of flowery texture is actually a leftover piece from a previous experiment. If I remember right, I first misted the entire paper – its texture paper – and added some green colored distress inks – probably Shabby Shutters and Old Paper. I then used Spellbinders Splendid embossing folder to get that flowery texture.

Now this folder doesn’t add to much depth to the paper. I wanted to use sandpaper to take off some of the embossing, and reveal the white underneath, but what with the texture of the paper and the embossing not having much depth, I gave up since it was going nowhere. However, some of the white became visible, and the texture a bit more noticeable with this.

Now, this panel didn’t have much weight, neither toughness to support itself. So, I added some scrap paper below it and foam mounted it a white card base.

So, coming to the other elements of the card… I had a few leftovers from when I made swatches for all my ink pads. I stamped the flower and leaves from combining the stamp sets from WPlus9 Fresh Cut Flowers and Avery Elle Laurels stamp sets. I then trimmed them to squares of 1.25″, centering the images along the way. I also added some clear embossing on on portions of the flowers and leaves for that special touch! šŸ˜‰

The sentiment is from Pink Fresh Studio Playful Animals 2, which also I stamped and heat embossed with clear ep. I had initially stamped the sentiment together, but then decided to separate them, and fuzzy cut them into separate pieces. Finally, I adhered all the pieces by foam mounting them over the card. I also added a couple of black gem stones to embellish.

And that finishes my card! I’m joining these challenges with it –

AAA Birthday card challenge #18: Photo Inspiration

Stamplorations 7th Birthday challenge: Linking a Celebration themed project

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge: Layer it Up

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Checkout more inspiration from our amazing design team and our Surprise Party Guest, Angie Cimbalo in the Seize the Birthday challenge blog, for more examples to include texture in your cards! And don’t forget to join the fun with your own birthday project creations!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

30 thoughts on “#901 – Seize the Birthday: Texture

  1. I am loving that everyone has been getting out their embossing folders recently as they do give such wonderful texture and they deserve to get used. I am loving this that daisy flower background it is perfect with those little square with lovely clean stamping on them xx

  2. Great that you could use this background and make it work. It is so interesting on this card as it looks like a flower field for your panels.

  3. That’s some amazing texture in the BG, is it a watercolor card? I love how you arranged the 3 panels and the sentiment in the 4th, looks fabulous!

  4. I wish I had your creative brain Ashwini! Love the color and the embossed background and then the squares add so much pop with the little floral design. This is wonderful!

  5. Beautiful card, loving your autumnal colours and all the background textures. Thanks for playing at AAA Birthday, hope to see you join in with future challenges too. Stay safe and keep crafting!

  6. Awesome take of the photo inspiration! Thanks for playing along with us at AAA Birthday Challenge. Looking forward to seeing your creative projects in the future galleries again.

  7. This is so pretty, Ashwini! The background reminds me of a dress I had as a child – I obviously must have liked it a lot to recall it all these years later! I like the subtle grungy texture on the background panel, then the clean pops of colour on the focal squares. Just lovely!

Leave a comment