#1083 – Yellow Daisy Field

Hello and welcome to yet another challenge at Seize the Birthday challenge. I thought I had this post scheduled but apparently not!! Well, better late than never! šŸ˜‰

It’s always an Anything Goes challenge with an optional topping provided by our leading ladies. This time’s leading lady, Nancy, has chosen the topping as ‘Any Color and Green‘.

I had my sister’s birthday coming up for which I was going to make a card anyway, so I thought I would go with my familiar field of watercoloring flowers. I have wanted to paint daisies or sunflowers for a long time, and this seemed like a great time to try, since I had my mojo up and running! šŸ™‚

And here’s what I made –

I used stamps from Winnie & Walter In Bloom: Addie’s Garden and In Bloom: Anna’s Flora. For the paper I used Canson Montval and then used Daniel Smith watercolors to paint. To mount it on a card base, I trimmed it a bit. But then started having problems with what color to choose for the card base. I finally went with kraft colored, but stamped a few dots and speckles on it before adhering the watercolor panel.

For the sentiment, I first colored a scrap piece of cardstock using Prima sparkly paint in brown and then once it dried, I used Dress My Craft Fancy Birthday die. I also die cut a couple more pieces using the kraft cardstock and then adhered them. The ‘wishes’ comes a part of a stamp from Reverse Confetti Tall Blooms.

And that’s my card for my dear sister! A very happy birthday to you, sis! May your days be as bright and cheerful as these sunflowers! ā¤

I will also join the Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge: Spring Flowers

Checkout the Seize the Birthday challenge blog for more inspiration from our talented DT and from our guests.

Thank you so much for stopping by!

22 thoughts on “#1083 – Yellow Daisy Field

  1. Your watercolouring always shines and this is no exception. Such lovely and vibrant sunflowers. Love the way you stamped randomly in the kraft bas card. What a great idea. It is so effect. Must try and remember that one xx

  2. This is absolutely and amazing card and your sister will be pleased. I love the water-colored images, but I have to mention the base paper and how you made it a bit different. Outstanding!

  3. This is OUTSTANDING, Ashwini! Your talent has no end.ā€‚I found myself staring at this for a very long time. I know your sister loved it. Thanks for making my Topping shine and going above and beyond for our followers too.

  4. Beautiful card Ashwini, your watercolouring is amazing, and I especially love the added details on the base that match the centres of the sunflowers, so clever, Cathy x

Leave a comment