#521 – Marbling with Nail Polish!

PE: Top 3 at Sovushka Slavia!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Sovushka Slavia - Top 3

Hello! So, I am trying something new today. I had tried marbling before, and with nail polish..and ended up with some terrible looking paper. I completely gave up the technique then. Its been more than a year, I think, and I am re-attempting it now. As such, it is still something new for me, having never successfully created any marbled paper..or indeed used it!

I used the same set of cheap nail polish I had bought (thank god they hadn’t dried yet!! ;)) and using a portion of the paper, I was able to create this card –

Spread Happiness

One more thing is the coloring. I had used a similar..should I say patter..before, where I color only one element in the card (in this card). I really love this technique in a card. And it seems balloons keep getting all the attention, seeing that I have colored only the balloons in both the cards.. ๐Ÿ˜›

Spread Happiness

Well, coming back to this card, I used We R Memory Keepers Quickutz Nesting Circles to die cut my marbled balloon, Mama Elephant Up & Away for the cute little foxie and the sentiment, which I stamped in MFT Hybrid Black ink. I also added a bit of Cracked Pistachio distress ink at the bottom of the panel and splattered some water, just for some additional color.

PE: A few things about marbling using nail polish –

  • The technique is exactly the same as using any other alcohol medium. Add a few drops in a tub with water and dip the card stock panel on top and remove it to get the marbled look..
  • …however, be careful when retrieving the panel. Nail polish isn’t at all like alcohol inks (if you are used to that). Once separated from water, it becomes extremely sticky. So be careful not to stick it to your hands
  • If the nail polish spreads outside your card panel, be careful when you pick it out. It forms strands, which are, of course, sticky. The first time I tried, a few strands stuck to the portion I had just marbled. <insert very very angry and very very frustrated emoticon here>
  • Last, but not the least, be careful how you dispose the leftover. Like I said (and I’ve not said it enough times) nail polish becomes sticky as soon as it looses contact with water. This means it can stick to the tub, your hands and even the sink if you are disposing it there. For cleaning up, you can, of course use a nail polish remover, or even any alcohol solution (I had paint thinner at home, so I used that)

I am submitting this card to the following challenges:

Sovushka Slavia Card Sketch Challenge #58 (well, I didn’t exactly like what I had last submitted ;P) –

86832-__58

CAS Mix Up Challenge: September: Stamping, Marbling + Your Choice (I’ve added die-cutting and just a bit of inking with the distress inks)

Addicted to Stamps #209: CAS

Addicted to Stamps - CAS

Stamplorations September CAS Challenge: Anything Goes

AAA Card Challenge #72: New to you Technique

Thank you for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

Save

36 thoughts on “#521 – Marbling with Nail Polish!

  1. Nail polish, huh??? How did you do it? Tutorial, Pleeease! Came out great! Perhaps that should I do with that nail polish that I never use….

    • Its actually the same as using any other alcohol medium…well, let me add a small section in the post! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you for stopping by, Cornelia!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You got some good marbling with the nail polish, Ashwini! It is a messy way to do marbling but so worth the effort! Love the little bit of distress color with splatters on the card too! A lovely design! Thanks so much for sharing this with us at CAS Mix Up!

  3. OMG Ashwini…Gorgeous nail polish marbling..you are making me want to try it…will have to get nail polish at the dollar store. TFS and inspiring us at CAS Mix UP. Such an adorable critter and great colors. Hugs, nancy

  4. This is amazing. You are so creative to use nail polish like this and have so much patience! But it is well worth it because it looks stunning. And I adore the cute little image and the dimension you added. Sorry I haven’t been to see you for a while but have been seeing your cards and am always amazed by your wonderful creativity. And I am so pleased to see you at AAA x

  5. wowww
    stunning
    I never try this technique
    love your stunnig card Ashwini
    you are so talented lady
    congrats on so many winner (I recently seen) your card are adorable
    thanks so much for playing with us at ATSM
    hugs
    Monika (ATSM DT)

  6. Awesome card, Ashwini! Love the opaque vs translucent areas and the colors you chose are fantastic! The little guy looks like he’s having fun, great that you left him in black and white :).
    I’ve experimented once with this technique, I’ve used a lot of colors but the result wasn’t that bad… however, the smell was awful!!!!! I made it with very cheap nail polish just for that purpose – and to color faux enamel dots ๐Ÿ™‚ – and they are really bad! Still, I’ve been thinking in using a mask and doing it again, but this time to bottles and cups like I saw in many DIY tutorials… we’ll see :).

    • Thank you Cris! Mine wasn’t smelling so bad, and I had used cheap ones too. Maybe one reason might be that I used only two colors? Anyway, hope your next one comes out well! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I love your fun card with that huge balloon hoisting the little fox into the air! Great nail polish marbling – I must try that (so thanks for the tips!) as I’ve only done the shaving cream / reinkers marbling before. Thanks for joining us at CAS Mix Up!

  8. I thought I commented here, but looks like I missed it. What a stunner it is Ashwini, I love marbling on mails so much that I had a blog for mails. But disabled it ๐Ÿ˜‰
    The color you chose is spot on, it pops right away! Great choice of challenges too.

  9. Yes your card design rocks Ashwini with the baloon grabbing all the attention ! loved the marbeling on it ,I have tried this technique with shaving foam ,as you said nail polish bcomes sticky ๐Ÿ˜‰ the resulting paper would have some texture too ! Cool idea to keep image uncolored .

  10. Fantastic design and colours Ashwini!! Love your marbled piece … so perfect for the balloon. And I love that you’ve left your sweet critter uncoloured. Thanks so much for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up!

Leave a Reply

