#537 – Coloring One Layered Flowers

PE: Winner at One Layer Simplicity Challenge!!

Hello! I really wanted to try a one layer card, where coloring was the main focus. And here’s what I created –

2016-10-06(1a)

I love how this turned out!!! I colored everything using Zig Brush markers – never thought could be this easy!! Seriously! All I did was add color so very vaguely – just like i would add highlights on lines in text book, and then spread the color using a brush – that’s it!!

2016-10-06(1b)

Ok, coming back – I’ve mostly used Winnie & Walter products here. I first marked and masked out the center area. I then stamped the images from In Bloom: Lola’s Bouquet, then a borrowed leaf from In Bloom Addie’s Garden, using Antique Linen distress ink, masking the images wherever needed –  then colored all the images using Zig brush markers, spreading the color using a normal brush wet with water.

Once done, I added some extra details, adding the lines on the leaves and redefining flowers, using the same markers. I then added the frame using scale and sketch pens – one had even half dried up, but it gave a nice wooden look, so I used it. 🙂 Finally stamped the sentiment from The Big, The Bold and Party stamp set using Hero Arts Cup O’ Joe ink.

I even added a few gold dots on the flowers and leaves and the sentiment – it has left a little sheen, but I couldn’t capture it in the images 😦

I am also submitting this card to the following challenges –

Uniko Studio Challenge #36: Autumn

One Layer Simplicity Challenge #32: Red, Orange & Yellow: Red, Orange & Yellow (somehow, in the image, the orange has become red..those littlest roses are orange, while the bigger ones are red)

The Flower Challenge #1: Anything Goes

The Flower Challenge - Blog

CAS Watercolor Challenge: Autumn

Addicted to CAS #98: Watercolor

SSS Work it Wednesday: Red, Orange, Yellow and/or Brown

SSS - Work It Wednesday

Thank you for stopping by!! 🙂

Save

46 thoughts on “#537 – Coloring One Layered Flowers

  1. Love the bright and bold colours of your beautiful flowers Ashwini. It’s just amazing that this is a one layer card … so much depth with your shading. Great job! Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Watercolour!

  2. Wow! I love this card – the colours, the composition, the colouring. I am a big fan of Zigs, and you are right, they are so easy to use and of course you can build up the layers too for a different look if that is what you are going for. Such a pretty card, thank you for joining us at The Flower Challenge, Lisa DT

  3. Such a gorgeous card Ashwini! love that bright bold stamping, great use of colour too.Thank you so much for sharing with us at The Flower Challenge and we hope to see you again soon 😉 Viv DT xx

  4. What a beautiful, bright and vivid bouquet, Ashwini! Love that masked center with the bold sentiment! Thanks for sharing this with us at CAS Watercolour!

  5. Hello Ashwini: I love the water color look of this gorgeous card!! The no line coloring is a beautiful technique and you performed it perfectly. Love the warm colors of the wreath of flowers surrounding your sentiment, awesome masking!!!
    Thank you for sharing with us at THE FLOWER CHALLENGE, hope you join us again next time.
    Big hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.DT

  6. Oh wow Ashwini this card doesn’t look one layer at All, that’s how good your coloring is! I love the yellows and brown together. Thanks for linking it up with Uniko too.

Leave a comment