#571 – New Year’s Cards

Hello! I usually post New Year’s cards I make for my family right on the first day of the new year..this time I am late since I was just plain lazy, carrying over the sloth to take photos of the cards to the new year.. please don’t mind me, I am pretty sure I’ll pick up in a few months! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

Here’s the set of cards I made –

New Year Cards 2016-17

I had a very simple design concept in mind – I wanted to do stamping, no other special techniques, just simple stamping followed by die cutting and inlaid die cut pieces in silver (I painted them silver using acrylic paint) for the sentiment.

New Year Card 1 (2016-17)

Now that I had decided this, I of course, went for my favorite stamps – flower stamps to make my cards! The flowers came from different stamp sets, as you see, and once done, I die cut the panel, added the sentiment using some scotch tape and then mounted it on my card base.

New Year Card 1 (2016-17)

Event the envelopes are all the same. I wanted the sentiment font to be as similar as possible to the one on the card, so I chose Reverse Confetti Whole Lotta Happy stamp set. I stamped this in black ink first and then stamped it again using Memento Brilliant Galaxy Gold ink.

New Year Card 1 (2016-17)

Before I stamped the sentiment, I used Hero Arts Leaves and Flowers background stamp on the envelope, stamping using Versamark watermark ink and then wiped some Perfect Pearls, each corresponding to the color or the envelope. However I was a bit unlucky with this, as the ink somehow didn’t stick to the paper and the neither did too much of the Perfect Pearls; and since I hadn’t used MISTI, I couldn’t stamp it again, without messing it up big time. But I thought it was still ok.. since the cards were pretty! πŸ˜‰

New Year Card 1 (2016-17)

Here are the details –
My Favorite Things Emmitt Alphabet
Altenew Layered Lily
Altenew A Beautiful Day
Altenew Watercolor Wonders
Simon Says Stamp Sketch Ranunculus

Submitting my cards to the following challenges –

Card 1 –

CAS-ual Fridays: Celebrations

096a8-14711092_1262458703778277_1157704617133370382_o

Card 2 –

Happy Little Stampers: January Watercolor Challenge: Anything Goes (I misted the stamps with water after applying distress inks, spreading the colors using a brush whenever required, so that’s a bit of watercoloring!) –

Card 3 –

Paru’s Card Challenge: Anything Goes (Congratulations on First Anniversary!!) –

55279-jan2b20172bchallenge

Just Us Girls Challenge #375: Word Week – New – (Altenew A Beautiful Day is a new stamp for me; plus, the card itself is for a new year!!)

Card 4 –

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Start Afresh

SSS - Monday Challenge

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge: New Something

SSS - Wednesday Challenge

Simon Says Stamp: Work it Wednesday: Something New with a New Product

SSS - Work It Wednesday

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

Save

30 thoughts on “#571 – New Year’s Cards

  1. Oh gorgeousness! I’m impressed at how your cards get better and better every time I see new ones… amazing set, but my heart goes to the Watercolor Wonders. Love that stamp set since I saw it for the first time.

  2. your cards are stunning Ashwini and the Hero Arts Background stamp is one of my favourites…thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge…hugs kath xxx

  3. Brilliant cards Ashwini. I love how you created your watercolour effect. It’s a great technique! All the flowers and pretty colours are gorgeous. Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers xx

  4. Beautiful creations – all of them. I love that Altenew Beautiful Day stamp set and have just used it a few days ago. Lovely colour combinations on all of your cards Ashwini. Lovely touch with the matching envelopes. Thanks so much for sharing them with us at Just Us Girls. Lovely to see you there.

  5. All are so beautiful Ashwini, I love the bold colors you use…I would love to learn a thing or two about using colors from you!

  6. Your cards are beautiful! I love the stamping and the silver inlaid letters! So pretty! Thanks for playing with Just Us Girls!

  7. Ashwini, all of your cards are truly gorgeous!!! I spot the second one in HLS’s watercolor challenge. Just wondering how you did it; did you spray water before you stamp? Anyways, beautiful work! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for your kind comments, Jessica! I did mist the stamp before stamping, plus I stamped multiple times (I used MISTI) and if I thought that the color hadn’t spread enough, I added some more using brush and water + ink. Hope that answers your question! πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, wow, wow!! These are all so stunning, I can’t believe you thought you were being lazy, they look like they took you forever to do!! I love them all, especially your second card where you stamped with distress inks and did some ‘uncontrolled’ water colouring. It looks so good I thought it was patterned paper! Your so very talented and I’m so glad you joined us at Happy Little Stampers!!!

Leave a Reply

