#866 – Watercolored Wreath

PE: TGIF challenge winner!!

TGIF - Winner

Winner at Watercooler Wednesday challenge!

Watercolor Wednesday - Winner Badge

Hello and welcome! If you’ve known me, you know that I absolutely love watercoloring. I mostly love coloring florals, but I’m also working on improving my critter coloring…and then some. But, until now, it was mostly stamp and color. Lately, I’ve been interested in some free hand watercoloring, and was pretty happy with my very first attempt at it, when I watercolored some eucalyptus leaves. Since then, I continued my experiments, mostly learning by watching YouTube videos by Shada Campbell, and this time I’ve tried my hand at free hand watercoloring florals – a simple wreath for now:

I used Gansai Tambi watercolors, along with watercolor paper from Hndmd/CrafTangles. I just drew a simple circle, watercolored. For watercoloring, I used primarily a shade of purple, and along with it, I mixed a couple more colors, mixing brown for the leaves and wine red for the roses. This keeps the monochrome look, while bringing in plenty of shades. Finally, I let everything dry and then trimmed the paper. I also added a few splatters.

To bring the card together, I stamped the sentiment from WPlus9 Fresh Cut Florals using VersaFine Onyx Black ink. I foam mounted the watercolroed panel onto black card stock, tucking a strip of dotted washi tape in similar colors on the bottom of one side.

I am so very happy with my trials! I’ll keep working on more of these free hand watercolors from now on..

Linking my card with these challenges –

Watercooler Wednesday challenge #271: All About Occasions

TGIF Challenge #264: Technique challenge: Watercolor

The Flower Challenge #44: Monochrome

Happy Little Stampers May Watercolor challenge: Anything Goes + optional Emboss

CrafTangles May challenge: Anything Goes

craft monthly challenge

Thank you so much for stopping by! 🙂

19 thoughts on “#866 – Watercolored Wreath

  1. This is wonderful, well done. I have an ambition to be able to do something like this, but I know it is a long way off. You must be so pleased to have made such excellent progress. I hope you keep it up xx

  2. Your free-hand watercolor wreath is just wonderful! You have a real talent for watercoloring. We are so pleased that you joined us this week at Watercooler Wednesday. Karen – DT

  3. Love your watercolored flowers! The multi colored inks are so pretty!!! tamiThanks for joining TGIF Challenges this week.

  4. Wow!!! You drew the wreath free hand ?!!! It’s BEAUTIFUL!!! The color mix is gorgeous and still monochromatic! Thank you so much for playing along at The Flower Challenge!

  5. Yay, you go girl! What a stunning piece of free hand watercolor painting… you are in the right purple brick road, or whatever shade you decide to use :)! Congratulations on your win!

  6. Pingback: #879 – Freehand Watercoloring..Again | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a comment