Watercolors, Washi and Die Cuts

PE: Male Room Challenge Winner!! (Sue T, thanks for telling me about this challenge!!)

Winners Badge

Hello! Back with my third card for the day! This time, I tried out a watercolors, washi tapes and die cuts on my card –

I started by applying watercolors – gray and a peach-ish color.I then embossed it using the Grate Effect die from Spellbinders. But after the embossing, I felt that the colors were not showing enough, so added some more! 🙂 I then chose a couple of washi tape, adhered them on the watercolor piece and also cut out a couple of cardstock strips and adhered it on them too.

I then die cut the birds using Birds On A Wire from Spellbinders from a brown cardstock and added green using Copic marker. I stamped the sentiment from Sentiment Sampler from Paper Smooches using Charcoal ink and traced ‘there’ using a Copic Multiliner since it hadn’t stamped properly. I then arranged the whole thing, foam mounted the washi tapes and the sentiment piece and adhered the bird die on. Finally mounted this on the card base, whose sides I had colored with the same peach-ish watercolor.

And that finished my card! I am submitting this to the following challenges –

CAS(E) This  Sketch #122

CAS(E) This Sketch #122CAS Colors & Sketches #123

CAS Colors & Sketches #123Happy Little Stampers: May CAS Challenge

Happy Little Stampers: May CAS ChallengeMale Room Challenge #9 (Thanks Sue for telling me!)Thanks for stopping by!

29 thoughts on “Watercolors, Washi and Die Cuts

  1. This is brilliant! I love it and may have to copy the design if that’s OK. You should enter this in the Male Room challenge. They feature cards for guys and this week’s challenge is birds!

    • Thank you so much Pooja!! I love it when people leave comments interpreting exactly what was on my mind when I made the card – you hit bull’s eye! 😀

  2. Fantastic design Ashwini. Love the watercolouring backdrop for your washi, banners and die-cut birds. Awesome! This card would work for the ATCAS Birds challenge, and Mixed Media Card Challenge – wings. Thanks for playing along at Happy Little Stampers.

    • Thank you so much Loll! And thanks for all the references – but I don’t think I’ll be able to link to them all, since CAS Colors & Sketches allows for only 4 challenge links. But I might make another card for these challenges, so thanks! 🙂

  3. Great design. I love the die cut birds against the pretty watercolour background! Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers xx

  4. I saw this in the gallery at Happy Little Stampers and popped over for a closer look! Love the embossed panel and water colouring – they set the birds off perfectly 🙂 Great design!

    • Hmm….I hadn’t seen those birds in the background – in fact, I scrolled up..and guess what, I could imagine a couple there! 😀 Thank you so much for your comments, Stef!

  5. Pingback: Birds On A Wire | Experiments With Card Making Etc

  6. This is a lovely card Ashwini! I love the watercolour background and the die cut birds!
    Thanks for joining us this week at CAS-Colours and Sketches 🙂
    Lizy xx

  7. What a great mix of color and texture here! You’ve done a super job combining the different challenges – thanks so much for making CAS Colours & Sketches one of them! 🙂
    P.S. Just to clarify our rules – you’re welcome to combine our challenge with up to 4 additional challenges – so a total of 5 challenges.

  8. Oh I do like this. I like the embossed background, the watercolour wash and the birds on a wire – great card. Thanks so much for playing along with The Male Room!

Leave a comment