Blooms and Watercoloring

PE: Fusion Challenge Honorable Mention

Hello! Couple of cards this time, with ways to use watercoloring with flowers.

For my first card, I used watercoloring to the flower –

2015-09-22

After stamping the flowers from Altenew Magnolias For Her in Dried Marigold distress ink, I used Dried Marigold and Abandoned Coral distress inks to color the flowers. I then added some highlights using color pencils and also added the stem for one of the colors. The stripes come from Winnie & Walter Scenery: Stripes, which I stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black, Rich Cocoa, Potter’s Clay inks. The sentiment is from Altenew Magnolias For Her, which I stamped in Memento Potter’s Clay. I then die cut two sides using a die from Paper Smooches Borders 2 and mounted it on a kraft card base. I then added some gold glitter stickles and a few gold sequins to embellish.

Submitting this card to Sovushka Slavia CAS Marathon: Phase 3: Zoology and Botany and Altenew September Challenge

8f76f-25d025bc25d025b025d1258025d025b025d1258425d025be25d025bdFrom Places Abroad UKFor my second card, I used watercoloring in my background, keeping the flower (die cuts) nice & pretty & white. Of course, I did add some glitter using Wink of Stella clear glitter. πŸ˜€

2015-09-21(b)

After watercoloring, I added the flowers and leaves from Ellen Hutson Bold Blooms and added the glitter, sequins and the rhinestones. I then added the blue patterned washi tape behind (by first adding it to a strip of cardstock) and mounted it to a black card base. I had actually forgotten to stamp the sentiment and only did it after I mounted the watercolor panel – and since it didn’t stamp well, I had to go over the entire sentiment again with my black pen! πŸ˜€ Thankfully, the sentiment is big and I could do that easily!! πŸ˜›

Submitting this one to Fusion Card Challenge:Peacock Dynasty, Retro Sketches Challenge #182 and Essentials by Ellen September Pin-Sights Challenge

A44fe23ae25cec75fa1751d68a994d19Thanks for stopping by!! πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Blooms and Watercoloring

  1. I absolutely love your Fusion card. The colours are perfect for our photo and love the design-the touch of washi is inspired. I often have to do the same as you and go over the stamp with a pen but you can’t tell. I am so pleased you joined us at Fusion with this delight of a card x

Leave a comment