#514 – Happy Birthday

PE: Honorable Mention at Just Add Ink!!

Winner at Seize the Birthday!! 🙂

Seize The Birthday - Challenge Winner

Top 3 at Stempel Garten!! 😀

Stempel Garten - Top 3

Hello! My Papa’s birthday is just a couple of days from now. Now, we have a habit of giving cards on birthdays in our family (giving cards is a little rare in India). We used to always buy our cards, until we started making our own (my sis makes some awesome digital cards using gimp and my Papa makes them with word art, adding a special touch of his own, and Ma and Papa give it together (of course!!))

And this time, for Papa’s birthday, when my Ma asked me to make a card for him, so she could give it to him – I was super surprised!! Its the first time she has asked me to make one, so you can see my delight! 😀 So, I set to work immediately, and came up with this card –

2016-08-11(2a)

I used WPlus9 Watercolored Anemones with distress inks for this card. I misted the stamp after inking it before stamping it on paper. Here’s the distress inks combination I used –
Antique Linen (base stamp) + Dried Marigold + Picked Raspberry
Antique Linen (base stamp) + Milled Lavender + Picked Raspberry
I also used Crushed Olive for the stems and leaves.

Once it was dry, I lightly blended some of the Crushed Olive just where the leaves are.

2016-08-11(2b)

Finally came the sentiment – from Reverse Confetti Whole Lotta Happy, which I stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black. I then added a few splatters using Camel drawing inks…and done! 🙂

2016-08-11(2c)

No, wait..there’s still the envelope! 😉 I used the same stamp set, and this time, I used white pigment ink to stamp the base, and then Dried Marigold, Milled Lavender and Crushed Olive to stamp on top.

Submitting this card to the following challenge –

Addicted to Stamps #206: Anything Goes

Addicted to Stamps - Anything Goes

Just Add Ink #324: Photo Inspiration

JAI #324...Inspiration!

Just Us Girls #356 : Watercoloring

Seize The Birthday : Anything Goes

Seize The Birthday - Anything Goes

Stempel Garten Challenge #52: Flowers and Plants

Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Save

Save

Save

Save

40 thoughts on “#514 – Happy Birthday

  1. Ashini, it is a sweet card for your Papa… And totally a joy when someone special ask you to make a card for them. Even now here in States, people more likely to go buying cards at store instead of handmade.
    This card will be special to him.

  2. Fabulous effect you achieved here with your water colouring. Super cas card and love your envelope. Great finish. So glad you shared it with us at Just Us Girls this week. thank You.

  3. This is a sweet and beautiful card, Ashwini! Love this habit of giving cards for birthdays in your family! I think your Papa will “melt” (this is an expression we use in PT… I’m not sure if it’s used in US) with this one :)!

  4. Wow, this is so gorgeous Ashwini – I’m sure your Papa will love it – and it will be extra special to him that you’ve made it for him too.Your flowers are so sweet and delicate and I love the sponging details and matching envelope too. Thanks for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week 🙂

  5. Ashwini this is beautiful! I love the myriad of colours you introduced into the flowers and the lovely soft water colour feel.Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

  6. Such a lovely tradition to give cards on birthdays! I love the softness you’ve manage to create with loads of intricate details. A lovely take on our inspiration image this week.

    Trish
    JAI Design Team

  7. Giving selfmade cards to friends or family is always a special thing. I love this since i discovered card making and like how people react when you tell them, that it’s hand made. I love the card you made for your dad’s birthday. Very nice color combination. I hope he had a nice celebration. Thanks for sharing your project at the Stempelgarten Challenge. Hope to see you there again.

    Regards, Melanie-Jane

  8. This is absolutely stunning! I love the vibrant look of these watercolour flowers and the splatter background is perfect. The envelope is equally amazing! Thanks for playing along with Seize the Birthday.

  9. Pingback: #522 – Color Layering Hibiscus | Experiments With Card Making Etc

Leave a comment